Malabar Tutors

Search 3 tutors in Malabar, FL.

Average Malabar tutoring rate: $11.75/hr.

Find a tutor that fits your needs.

Filter by:

Here are some tutors in Malabar:

Previously Posted:

Carolyn R.'s Photo

Carolyn R.|Malabar, FL

$30-35/hr 10 yrs exp 61 yrs old

Math Tutor - Elementary Mathematics Through Geometry And Algebra I

Avg response < 1 hrs
I am a retired software engineer with a BS degree in Computer Science and a minor in Statistics from UCF. My degree was very math oriented. I am also the mom of two daughters who are currently attending college. Both are in pre-med disciplines. The youngest was diagnosed with learning disabilities in the first grade. I curtailed my career and was able to tutor her and keep her at grade level, while she learned to compensate for her learning differences. To make a long (but good) story short, she not only kept up with her studies (at a very difficult college-prep school), but graduated in the top 10% of her class, and was accepted into a very difficult school! The point here is, with effective help, a motivated student can overcome most obstacles. Because of my math background, I was able to help both daughters with Pre-algebra, Algebra, and Geometry. I have found that a lot of Algebra difficulties arise because of a misconception that Algebra is "hard", and is further compounded by difficulties factoring (basically you have to know your multiplication tables backwards and forwards). Calculators just don't do the trick. Also, everyone learns differently: some are visual, some are kinetic, and some are auditory. Teachers seldom have the time to be able to work with one student enough to really find out what the specific issues are and then work to correct them. Another area that I have been able to give assistance in is college resume' preparation and planning. After helping two daughters gain acceptance into some fairly prestigious public and private schools, I have become fairly proficient in what it takes to build an effective college resume'(courses, sports, music/arts, foreign languages requirements, extracurricular activities, essays, clubs, honor societies, community service, etc.); my daughter applied to 10 colleges/universities public and private, in and out of state. She was accepted by every one of them and received scholarship offers totaling over $250,000 for 4 years. I did not write her essays or fill out her applications, but I did proof all of her work, and start planning her activities and coursework starting in the 9th grade, so that her resume' would have all of the elements it needed to make her competitive. My goal is to help the student succeed... and then to succeed without me! :)
Showing 1 - 3 of 3