Homeschool teachers in Washington, DC

Find a teacher to help with remote learning.

Average rate: $20.75/hr.

Filter by:

Homeschool teachers in Washington, DC

Isabela P.'s Photo

Isabela P.|Washington, DC

$25-30/hr 7 yrs exp 26 yrs old

Creative Teacher

(3)
I have been working as a private tutor since I was in High School and would teach younger kids who had difficulties with their school work, especially if it was humanities or language issues. From there I started a career in teaching English as a Second Language privately as well as in a school setting. I have worked with kids from 1 to 17 years old, always using my creativity to make learning fun, my knowledge to make it meaningful, and my great personality to make the experience wonderful. My international background helps me to have a broader and more diverse perspective on learning which propels me to teach in a unique and culturally enriched way.
MA
Reviewed by Mary A. 5/5 stars
I write this review to offer my highest recommendation to Isabela (Bela). I hired her when I was in need of immediate help and she was great at quickly learning our daily routine and needs. She took care of our then son (3) who has Prader-Willi syndrome and under her care he developed quickly but, most of all he was happy. We also had a daughter (5) who Bela cared for. Her sweet and caring personality was fundamental when caring for both children. But, benefited greatly from Bela's patience and teaching skills. She speaks Portuguese fluently, as she is Brazilian. Bela is a very proactive, communicative and easy going person who will be an excellent presence for your kids and a positive presence for your kids and an excellent addition to your family overall. Hope this short and concise review is helpful to families who are looking for someone to take care of their children and/or tutor them. Bela is great - I cannot recommend her more!
Christopher S.'s Photo

Christopher S.|Washington, DC

$25-30/hr 10 yrs exp

Passionate Teacher/sitter With Availability This Year

Responds within a day
(13)
I am a therapist and educator with a background in special education and a real passion for teaching and working with kids. I have been involved in education and childcare in some capacity for over 14 years now, including babysitting with families long term (7+ years), caring for children as young as 15 months, and working in public and private schools. I particularly enjoy being outside and active, but also fostering natural curiosity and critical thinking. I am currently looking for a family to work with after school for the 2021 school year and beyond. I'm quite flexible about start time including short days. Starting in the summer would also be possible. Many of my families I connect well with enjoy things like: - Sports (soccer and baseball are my favorites!) - Swimming - Hiking or bike rides - Building Lego towers to the ceiling - Reading and writing stories - Doing a messy science experiment If any of this sounds like your family I'd love to connect!
MB
Reviewed by Matthew B. 5/5 stars
We've been working with Christopher through COVID for help with remote schooling, pickup and after school play, and Wednesday adventures since our school is closed that day. He's been wonderful with our seven year old son - encouraged him through school, got him outside all the time, has taken him on hiking and biking adventures and been creative with toys and games on the rainy days. Our son looks forward to his arrival every day he's here and we consider ourselves lucky to have found him!
Showing 1 - 20 of 517