Lessons in Washington

Find instructors.  Choose from 146.

Average rate: $19.25/hr.

Post a job free!

Filter by:

Available now!

Ashley W.'s Photo

Ashley W.|Washington, DC

$15-20/hr 4 yrs exp 27 yrs old

Tutor Available for Many Subjects--All Ages

As a part of the National Honor Society, the Spanish National Honor Society, and the Math National Honor Society for my junior and senior year in high school, I gained much tutoring experience, both at the middle and high school levels. I have also done independent tutoring, outside of the honor societies. I have always had a passion for working with kids and connect with kids very well. While I have not specifically worked with elementary age children with regards to school, I have worked with young children, ages 3-12, in a variety of settings, including coaching in both soccer and swimming. As growing up I was ADD, I understand the need for interactive learning and always look both for more ways to engage the student and alternate explanations/approaches that the student may connect with or understand better. As a part of my undergraduate course work, I completed an internship in the local school in which I worked closely with developmentally delayed children, as well as those with a high risk of becoming developmentally delayed, so I understand many of the challenges associated with these academic and/or social delays. My academic strengths and interests have always been wide spread. I have always had a passion for math and science, as they just tend to make sense to me. I very much enjoy, and have since a young age, puzzles, logic, and knowing that, at the end of the day, there is one right answer. Growing up though, I also loved to read, and did so constantly. Combined with the intense HS program I went through (International Baccalaureate) and having my dad, who taught HS English and history, as a mentor, this love has made me a strong writer. My love of reading and story has also fostered a passion for history, the story of our past. I completed a B. S. in Kinesiology, with a minor in Psychology, at the College of William and Mary in Virginia. I am currently a graduate teaching assistant at Baylor University as I work to complete my master's degree in Exercise Physiology. I also have played sports at an elite level for the majority of my life. I have coached, and given private lessons in, soccer, lacrosse, and swimming. Academic subjects I can tutor include: -Math: all up to Calculus AB; excluding Statistics -Chemistry: General Chemistry -Biology: all -Kinesiology: all (incl. Anatomy, Physiology, Sports Medicine, etc) -English: all -History: US History, Government This list is not exhaustive.
Showing 61 - 80 of 146