Denver Tutors

Search 822 tutors in Denver, CO.

Average Denver tutoring rate: $18.00/hr.

Find a tutor that fits your needs.

Filter by:

Here are some tutors in Denver:

Alfina W.'s Photo

Alfina W.|Denver, CO

$30-50/hr 10 yrs exp 49 yrs old

Licensed Professional Teacher with Special Education Endorsement and Over 20 years of Experience Teaching Children and Adults with Special Needs; ESLL and Gifted/Talented - Serving Denver Metro and Vicinity.

Avg response < 2 hrs
(21)
I have over 20 Years of Extensive Tutoring, Educational Counseling, Mental Health Services, Client Advocacy, and Special Education Teaching experiences. Seven years of Special Education teaching experience provided insight into differences in learning styles, issues of learning disabilities including ADD/ADHD, Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, Dyscalculia, and Autism Spectrum Disorders, and how these impact higher education experiences. Qualified administrator and interpreter of Myers-Briggs Type Indicator for career skills and major selection. Certified as a Qualified Parent Trainer in Communication by Family Team Institute, Ft. Myers, Florida. Fluent in French, Indonesian, Sundanese, and conversant in Russian and Japanese. I am trained and Certified in Orton Gillingham reading methods by the State of Hawaii Dept. of Education, during the 2008-2009 School Year. I was trained directly by the Statewide Special Education Literacy Resource Teacher Trainer of the Hawaii State Department of Education. I am also trained in the Wilson Foundation and Wilson Reading Program, which is the more "children friendly" version of the Orton Gillingham methods, for which I attended annual training conducted by Colorado Department of Education.
CarePro Background Check
CU
Reviewed by Christina U. 5/5 stars
Alfina has been working with our daughter, E., for about 5 weeks, and I am extremely pleased with E's progress so far. Early on, Alfina conducted assessments on E. to understand her strengths and weaknesses. From that information, Alfina was able to establish a baseline to track E's progress and to tailor the lessons for her. Alfina comes prepare with the tools to make the most of her time with E. I am very impressed with Alfina's depth of knowledge, and her preparation for each lesson. The improvement in E's reading, writing and math skills is evident.
Lawrence N.'s Photo

Lawrence N.|Denver, CO

$50-120/hr 3 yrs exp 27 yrs old

Professional Tutor And Educator

Avg response < 19 hrs
(2)
Hello, all! I am Lawrence (or Sam!) I graduated from Emory University in May of 2018 with a 3. 9 GPA and a BA in Philosophy that included a number of doctoral courses. I am making the most of my time in Colorado before heading off to law school; I work as a freelance tutor in addition to tutoring through a college two days a week. I also spend 3-5 hours a week volunteering with a mentoring program. I am a published author, former collegiate athlete, and--I like to think, as does my mother (and hopefully others)-- a rather good guy! I am happy to provide recommendations and further information regarding my experience and unique qualifications. "A capacity, and taste, for reading gives access to whatever has already been discovered by others" -A. Lincoln I love helping people of any age cultivate and see the value in the tools that facilitate successful problem solving and effective living.
KM
Reviewed by Karen M. 5/5 stars
I can attribute my tutoring sessions to my 4.0 GPA in my college graduate classes to this tutor. As a tutor he possesses an exceptional level--ivy league level-- of knowledge of English grammar. This is apparent in his proofreading and tutoring sessions as he assists in the structure of my college graduate essays'. Additionally, he provides instruction while proofreading papers to ensure and reinforce the proper construction of the sentences and paragraphs within each section. The provided insight into the areas where I needed to pay more attention and time in my writing is invaluable This tutor is Amazing and I would highly recommend him.
Zach F.'s Photo

Zach F.|Denver, CO

$13-30/hr 6 yrs exp 29 yrs old

Education

Avg response < 20 hrs
(1)
I'm a single dog parent to my rescue dog Oscar. I am very hardworking and reliable. I truly love teaching and have over 6 years of active teaching experience. I've taught internationally in Ecuador for 1 year teaching English. I've taught at a community college in Illinois teaching English to adult students. I also have a stint of long term subbing positions in high school positions. My last 3 years I have worked in upper elementary teaching positions. My master's degree and teaching license are from Colorado . I am currently a 5th grade teacher in the Denver Metro area. I love teaching, however with Corvid-19, I would like to find a pod style teaching position. I have experience with Bridges and Eureka math curriculums. I also have experience with ReadyGen for literacy. I love tailoring lessons towards student interest. I come highly qualified and would love for the opportunity to speak to my experiences in the past and my current teaching position.
Background Check
LS
Reviewed by Laura S. 5/5 stars
I had worked with Mr. Zachary F two years ago, as he was a 4th grade teacher, and I was the school counselor. I worked fairly closely with him throughout the year because he had several students in his class that had significant safety, behavioral, educational and special needs issues. We taught together providing PBIS bullying prevention lessons; and we worked on student 504 plan accommodations. Mr. F. was always very alert and quick to ascertain when he needed to call for mental health services for a student. He was also willing and capable to follow up with any recommended interventions and accommodations plans in the classroom. As a co-teacher with my lessons, Mr. F. was a dynamic and engaging teacher to work with. He is an energetic and fun addition to the team. He also brings that impressive style into the classroom with students. He adds new ideas to the team and is always willing to learn. I highly recommend Mr. F.! Sincerely, Dr. Laura
Elisabeth B.'s Photo

Elisabeth B.|Denver, CO

$15-20/hr 5 yrs exp 27 yrs old

Tutoring And Part-time Caregiving

(2)
I have been in the field of special education for five years and it is my greatest passion in the world. I believe that every child and adult should have equal access to content and education and I have significant experience in filling the gaps of knowledge. I specialize in phonics instruction and teaching alternative learners how to read and understand phonetic awareness. I have taught specialized instruction in phonics in self contained classrooms and within general education. Moreover, I have taught students with ADHD, dyslexia, various emotional disabilities, and hearing and speech impairments. I have mastered how to differentiate instruction. I ferociously theorize that every person wants to learn and I have strength in leveraging other people's strengths as an individual to maximize their potential. I will work hard to find solutions and be flexible to alternative methods of teaching as me and my students find the best way to learn and acquire the content at hand.
SF
Reviewed by Summer F. 5/5 stars
Elisabeth is a fantastic teacher and tutor. She has an unparalleled ability to form meaningful relationships with students which contributes to her students' academic growth. Since hiring Elisabeth, I have seen such a positive change in my student. Elisabeth makes learning fun and sparked my student's new interest in learning. I highly recommend Elisabeth if you are looking for someone to help your student stay on track academically.
Showing 1 - 10 of 822

FAQs for finding tutors in Denver

How much does it cost to hire a tutor in Denver, CO?
Hiring a tutor in Denver, CO on Care.com will cost an average of $18.00 per hour as of October 2020. This rate may vary depending on the experience each tutor has, the subject you need help with, and how often you will require tutoring.
How can I find a tutor near me?
Care.com currently has 822 tutors in Denver, CO. You can search for tutors by their distance from Denver and compare your options by hourly pay rate, the experience, the subjects they teach, and their availability. You can also see reviews from other families that have used the tutors you're interested in.
What type of tutoring services can I find in Denver, CO?
The most popular tutoring services that you can find in Denver are usually private tutoring classes in subjects such as math, chemistry, reading, English, or Spanish. On Care.com, you'll find tutors in Denver who can teach different grades from high school to elementary school, or even college.