Burke Special Needs Care

Find 26 options in Burke, VA
Average Rate: $16.00/hr
Post a job for free today!

Filter by:

Available Now near Burke!

David G.'s Photo

David G.|Burke, VA

$25-40/hr 10 yrs exp 51 yrs old

Mr G.

Responds within a few days
(1)
I worked with mod/severe special needs for several years in a high school setting and was an Elementary/Middle School Counselor, at a school including an Autism center, for 15 years in FCPS. I have volunteered at Inova pediatric unit over the years and have EOLS ( End of Life Specialist) certification through Hospice. My 21-year-old son is awesome and severely disabled. As a result, I have a great deal of personal experience and comfort with issues ranging from immobility, ventilators and g-tubes to ostomy bags, hearing aids and inability to communicate.
Background Check
Colleen R.'s Photo
Reviewed by Colleen R. 5/5 stars
Dave offers more than anybody would expect from Care.Com. I needed something that few caregivers can provide, a companion for my 17-year-old son with an intellectual disability and severe communication barriers (comparable to approx. 3-4 year old with limited speech). My son is slow to accept someone new, can barely communicate, and occasionally will act out when approached without mindfulness. Dave is highly overqualified and easily lived up to the high expectations I had from his profile (extensive experience with special needs and young people). Dave provided my son with the compassionate services of a professional educator and professional counselor. He spent four hours a day with my son for three days (on short notice) and treated my son like a fun playmate. I could hear the laughter and joy. It's obvious that Dave enjoys this work and is highly sensitive to special needs. I still can't believe my good fortune in having provided my child with such a safe and fun environment.
Emily T.'s Photo

Emily T.|Burke, VA

$20-30/hr 7 yrs exp 24 yrs old

(4)
I am a professional care provider in the Burke Virginia area. I am currently enrolled at GMU earning a Bachelors in Early Childhood Education. I have a lot of babysitting, nannying, and pet care experience. I have a younger sister who has special needs, so I am experienced and prepared for all kinds of behavior. I am definitely and animal lover. I take my job very seriously and always give it my best. I am CPR and first aid certified because safety always come first, but having fun and engaging those I care for is also incredibly important to me! I am passionate about integrating learning into fun time. I have completed a large amount of college courses directly applicable to childcare. I spend my free time on weekends teaching and managing childcare at church and volunteering at social activities for people with special needs.
Erin L.'s Photo
Reviewed by Erin L. 5/5 stars
Emily came to work for our family in the Fall of 2019 to assist during the morning times primarily with my 5 year old son, but also with my 3 year old daughter. She would help me wake them up, get them dressed, make my son's lunch (along with other morning routine tasks) and then drive my son to school. She was amazing with my kids and they loved her. She was also regularly on time and very respectful and professional. In fact, when Covid hit our area and schools closed and we pulled my daughter out of daycare, our first thought was to see if Emily had more availability to help while my husband and I worked. The kids were so excited when we told them that Emily was going to be spending more time with them. She helped them both navigate the new virtual learning environments, she spent hours on the floor with them playing barbies, kitchen, fort, and various other games. She did art projects with them and planted all kinds of veggies and plants with them. She's the best and we miss her!
Showing 1 - 20 of 26