Reading Tutors in Washington

Select from 321 tutors for your student.

Average rate: $17.25/hr.

Find the right reading tutor for your needs.

Available now!

Christopher S.'s Photo

Christopher S.|Washington, DC

$15-25/hr 10 yrs exp

Passionate Teacher/sitter With Availability In The Evenings And On Weekends

Booked 2 times
Avg response < 6 hrs
(11)
Hello parents! I am a teacher and special needs therapist with a real passion for teaching and working with kids. I have been involved in education or childcare in some capacity for over 14 years now, including babysitting with families long term (ages as young as 15 months), working in public/private schools/preschools, and tutoring. I particularly enjoy being outside and active, but also fostering natural curiosity and critical thinking. Many of my families enjoy things like: - Sports (soccer, tennis, baseball, etc.) - Swimming - Hiking or bike rides - Building lego towers to the ceiling - Reading and writing stories - Learning how to cook - Doing a messy science experiment I occasionally am looking to foster new connections with families that may be looking for childcare or sitting and am often available in the evenings and on weekends although I can be fairly flexible. I have first aid, allergy, and seizure experience. I really look forward to hearing from you!
KW
Reviewed by Katherine W. 5/5 stars
Christopher is an absolute gem of a caregiver. He has taken care of our 6- and 8-year-old sons regularly for the past several months, and we are all beyond grateful to have him in our lives. He is completely reliable and trustworthy, and he has an uncanny ability to get to know kids and to connect with them almost instantly. My children adored him from the moment they met him. He completely engages with them, which, for my kids, means playing non-stop sports with them. He genuinely cares about them, even occasionally stopping by their baseball games on the weekend to show his support. He is very communicative with parents, keeping us apprised as requested, and he's also wonderfully resourceful and able to deal independently with the inevitable unexpected developments that arise when dealing with kids and crazy schedules and DC traffic. He has a car, is happy to drive kids around, and knows DC and the surrounding areas well. I am out of space, but I highly recommend Christopher!!
Dani P.'s Photo

Dani P.|Washington, DC

$15-25/hr 2 yrs exp 35 yrs old

Experienced Babysitter/Nanny Seeks PT Eves & Wknds

(6)
My name is Dani! I am actively seeking a FT Metro friendly position, preferably with M-F 9-5ish hours. I am also available for evening/weekend babysitting. I am the oldest of 5 in an Army family & I love kids! We have a 22 year age gap so I've helped to raise literally every one of them from infancy since I was 5 years old. I've done everything from diaper duty, potty training, playtime, homework, cooking meals for & with kids, bedtime stories, & everything in between. I try to keep kids pretty busy with reading, arts & crafts & being outside rather than TV. Board games & pillow forts are always fun, too! I do NOT own a car, but I have a license. I have lived in DC for over 8 years & I love to frequent museums & explore what the town has to offer. I love to paint, cook & I am a fan of the outdoors. It'd be great to find a match where I could really become an extension of the family. :) MUST be Metro accessible or be willing to reimburse for car services. Check out my references!
KT
Reviewed by Kathi T. 5/5 stars
Danielle is the oldest of five siblings. As such, she sets the example and provides care for her younger siblings, aged 5 to 22 years her junior. She has cared for, diapered, fed, cooked, played and loved on her siblings for decades. Specifically, Danielle has often shared her love of art and cooking with her siblings. She has also helped with homework, chores around the home, and modeled appropriate behavior in a variety of settings. I recommend Danielle for any childcare setting. From her Mom, Kathi
Brigitte M.'s Photo

Brigitte M.|Washington, DC

$15-25/hr 6 yrs exp 23 yrs old

Booked 3 times
Avg response < 13 hrs
(4)
A very strong, passionate, energetic, jovial, dynamic and hardworking young lady. As the first child of my family (with four younger siblings) I became familiar with responsibility at a very young age. I have literally been a mother since birth. :) My personality is quite calm and gentle. I am very communicative and make sure I become friends with the children in my care. It makes them feel more secure and comfortable. I enjoy cleaning a lot and seeing places neat and organized makes me happy. My years of experience at the daycares I worked in gave me ideas on Montessori... Very creative. I enjoy reading to kids and sharing stories with them. We actually take turns. I love painting, drawing and playing with kids. I'm very fluent in English and French and I am willing to teach kids French. I treat infants like my kids, and older kids like my siblings. CPR/First Aid trained and certified. Very patient and spontaneous. I will be honored working with you and your family. Stay blessed
SS
Reviewed by Shama S. 5/5 stars
Brigitte was honest, caring, and followed my directions to a T. She worked hard did everything I asked her to do. She was punctual and dependable. She did all sorts of activities with my son. The only complaint I had was that it seemed her personality was a bit cold, not nurturing or motherly towards my son. However I discussed this with her and it seems like she improved.
Showing 11 - 20 of 321