Reading Tutors in Pittsburgh

Select from 100+ tutors for your student.

Average rate: $14.50/hr.

Find the right reading tutor for your needs.

Available now!

Lori R.'s Photo

Lori R.|Pittsburgh, PA

$10-15/hr 10 yrs exp 57 yrs old

Professional Nanny, Babysitter, And Reading Teacher

(11)
Anyone reading this after April 4, 2015, please be aware that I am trying to change my availability status on my profile from full-time to part-time. Part-time work seems to suit me better these days. Unfortunately, for some reason. I'm having trouble changing this information on my profile Hi! My name is Lori. I have more than 23 years of experience in working with young children in formal and informal settings. Most of my experience revolves around teaching and tutoring which I have done in public and private schools. I am also a home school evaluator (16 years). I have fingerprint clearances and child abuse and history clearances. I own a car and have a clean driving record. I have been a nanny to three different families in the past and I enjoyed it. I am an animal lover, and I like to go out and about when appropriate with the kids I watch. I do not like to be stuck in the house for 6 to 10 hours a day. I do dishes, vacuum, laundry, and straighten up. I keep a clean kitchen and prefer homes where things are tidy and in order, as much as is reasonable for the ages of the child(ren). I believe in letting kids watch an hour or two of appropriate TV or DVD shows during a typical day, and I monitor the time limit and content closely. I also believe children should be active and go places and do things, interacting with other children and the community. A detailed list of references with phone numbers and all my clearances will be provided to you when we meet or chat. Thanks for looking at my profile!
Barbra L.'s Photo

Barbra L.|Pittsburgh, PA

$15-20/hr 10 yrs exp

Part-Time/Occasional, Compassionate And College Educated Caregiver Available

Avg response < 22 hrs
(4)
I would like to take care of, have fun with and positively contribute to the upbringing of children. Some of my best memories from my work life are of times I spent as a babysitter or nanny. I have cared for as many as four kids at a time, but usually have worked with families who have had three or fewer children. I'd be delighted to help with homework, cheer your child/ren on at sporting events, hike or play in a park, read to or with them, do crafts, take photos or videos of and with your kids and go on outings to libraries, museums, the aviary, a swimming pool and/or the zoo. I also love tennis and have patiently taught and played with kids. I am a non-smoker, college educated and I have my own transportation. While in college, I enjoyed my child development and psychology courses. My schedule is flexible. Therefore, I might be available at the last minute to provide childcare. I have a strong affinity for cultural experiences. While in college, for two summers I was a drama instructor at arts day camps. I also played the violin for eight and a half years. I would be an especially good fit for families who wish to foster creativity. I have a PA Criminal Background Check and PA Child Abuse clearances that I am happy to share with you. I will also provide a copy of my First Aid/CPR certification. Not only do I enjoy being with and caring for children, I also like animals very much. Additionally, I would be happy to help with dog walking, carpooling, errands, meal preparation and light housekeeping.

Showing 1 - 10