Shelton Home Care

Find dozens of home care options in Shelton, WA.
Average rate is: $12.00/hr.
Find great home care that fits your needs.

Available Now in Shelton!

Home Care Companies

Jessica H.'s Photo

Jessica H.|Shelton, WA

$15-30/hr 3 yrs exp 41 yrs old

Senior Care

(3)
I am a single Christian who loves serving people! I love our elderly generation, listening to their stories, helping with their care needs, and finding ways to show them how important they still are. I love working with my clients, at homes where I'm currently working part-time as a HCA (Home Care Aide). I have a heart for elderly seniors with dementia. I worked for a nursing home in 1995-1996 as a NAC (Nursing Assistant Certified), in the Alzheimer's/Dementia wing. I didn't like the impersonal feel of nursing homes, nor was I able to serve my clients in the way I wanted, because of the NAC vs. client ratio. So, I didn't continue to work there, or keep my license active. I did help my grandmother care for my grandfather, during his final years with terminal cancer, and helped the same grandmother, in her final years, with multiple health & physical issues. My other grandmother is currently dealing with Alzheimer's disease. It's been 17 years now, since working in the nursing home. I am now working for an adult family home as a Certified Home Care Aide, and loving it! I love the much more personal feel, and being able to really connect, visit, and meet the needs of my clients. My current clients have varying degrees of dementia. I am also excited by how much more we know about this disease and now have better ways to approach people with it, to avoid the agitation and misunderstanding that we had many years ago! I love animals too, and until this year, had a whole herd of dairy goats, chickens and dogs, for the last 20 years. Other hobbies are knitting, reading, puzzles and sewing. My current hours in the AFH are Wednesday (2 p.m. to 8 p.m.), Thursday (2 p.m. to 8 p.m.), Friday (2 p.m. to 9 p.m.), Saturday (8 a.m. to 4 p.m.), and Sunday (4 p.m. to 8 p.m.). I also have another caregiving job on Mondays & Thursdays, from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. I'm also active in my Church, and attend there weekly on Sundays from 8:45-12 pm, in West Olympia. I have my CPR and First Aid card, and Blood-Borne Pathogens training, Home Care Aide certification, Dementia & Mental Health Specialty training, Nurse Delegation core training. I've also taken additional training and State testing to upgrade my HCA certification to an NAC license, and am just waiting the State to process my license and send it to me.
Showing 1 - 5 of 5