Irvine Special Needs Care

Find 66 options in Irvine, CA
Average Rate: $16.50/hr
Post a job for free today!

Filter by:

Available Now in Irvine!

Miranda M.'s Photo

Miranda M.|Irvine, CA

$10-15/hr 4 yrs exp 58 yrs old

Part Time Care Giver

(1)
Hi, Thank you for visiting my profile! I have a BA in education and further coursework in early childhood, psychology and a variety of subjects that I found I was interested in. I was a mentor teacher at Good Shepherd Preschool in Irvine for several years until I left to raise my own children. More importantly I have spent the past 3 years working with clients who ranged from high functioning to profoundly developmentally disabled--and found that although it wasn't my "major" it is something I have become passionate about. I worked with four families regularly with special needs, and my primary family had two in the same household. One was 54 and mentally in the 4-5 range, the other had severe CP with seizures, legally blind, developmental delays in every area. I found very quickly that I had a gift for all sorts of therapy (I attended and was actively involved in speech, hippo, aqua, OT and PT, and music therapies) and it was recommended by several therapists that I should pursue a career in therapy. So I am back at school and will be pursuing a masters in occupational therapy. I am infinitely patient and interested in learning all aspects of various therapies. I have not had experience in ABA or sign language, but I am interested in learning both. I am creative in the approaches I use to engage my clients, taking into account developmental levels and use of all senses. My philosophy has been to teach to potential, one never knows what talents are hidden, and to take great joy in the small victories. I was recently reduced to tears when the 7-year-old I worked with rolled over and sat up on her own for the first time--it took daily work for 18 months, but she got it and I was as proud of her as I was of my own when they graduated college.
Morgan H.'s Photo

Morgan H.|Irvine, CA

$20-30/hr 9 yrs exp 25 yrs old

Fun, Organized, Dependable Nanny

(2)
I have experience nannying over the course of 8 years now. I currently work Part-time for Irvine Unified as a Behavioral Therapist. I have been doing this for 5 years, while nannying after day job. This job has allowed me to gain experience with multiple children, as well as special needs children, and children of all ages. I am very dependable, VERY organized and I am willing to discuss any duties outside of basic child care needs, that you may see fit. I own a reliable car and I am fully insured. I am also CPR certified, I have all vaccines up to date, and I am a non-smoker. I have a copy of my background check ran in order for me to work in schools that I'm happy to provide to you, or information for you to run your own background check. My rate Includes my knowledge in childcare, with my degree In ECE, my experience, and can depend on the duties required, & number of children, but can be negotiable. Please message me for my daily routines in regards to Covid with families.
AS
Reviewed by Anh S. 5/5 stars
Morgan was a fabulous nanny for our 6-year old son. He would always look forward to the days that Morgan would be picking him up from school. She was punctual and dependable. She is very detail oriented - not only about following any specific directions I might have, but also in the light cleaning around the house. But even better, she is a very fun, creative person who would come up with great games to play with our son. She was also good at teaching him manners, picking up after himself, etc. Highly recommend. Unfortunately because our needs changed due to Covid stay-at-home orders, but otherwise we would have loved to continue working with her!
Miranda M.'s Photo

Miranda M.|Irvine, CA

$15-20/hr 10 yrs exp 58 yrs old

Part-Time Caregiver

(3)
Hi! Thanks for coming to my profile. I'm a reliable, patient, engaged caregiver living in Irvine (but happy to drive!). I am very dependable, and I drive a fully-insured car in great condition. It's got plenty of room for car seats, wheel chairs and other therapeutic equipment. I'm also really patient, no matter the situation. I spent the last three years working with multiple special needs children, including two in the same family (their mom called me the black hole of stress because whatever stress came my way was just absorbed and disappeared!). I also raised two kids of my own, who have just graduated from Johns Hopkins and USC. But I think my strongest suit is how much I engage with the kids I work with. I am a mother with a BA in education; I was a mentor teacher at a preschool in Irvine; and I'm now pursuing my masters degree in occupational therapy. I care very much about doing more than sitting on the couch and watching TV when I'm working with kids. Instead, we do art projects, play games, go swimming, play at the pool or in the park, run around and be silly. I am interested in what they are passionate about and through the years have learned about everything from sharks to zombies. I'm an educated professional, and I view care-giving as a chance to benefit your kids beyond just hanging out. I know that plenty of kids swim, or want to swim. I'm the former head coach of a swim team in Irvine; I was a lifeguard for 6 years, and a swim instructor for 8 years. If your child swims, wants to learn, or simply enjoys the pool, I am a little fanatical about safety. What else? I actively volunteer with my therapy dog, Posy. She's a little papillon, who works with me in reading to rover programs and in hospitals. I love the outdoors, camping and wild life photography. I am passionate about learning and teaching and am an avid reader and student. I look forward to hearing from you! Miranda
Showing 1 - 10 of 66