Reading Tutors in Arroyo Grande

Select from 5 tutors for your student.

Average rate: $18.75/hr.

Find the right reading tutor for your needs.

Filter by:

Available now!

Anna M.'s Photo

Anna M.|Arroyo Grande, CA

$25-40/hr 5 yrs exp 25 yrs old

Reliable, Qualified Tutor For All Ages

(1)
I am an experienced and reliable tutor with excellent references. I'm comfortable helping with most subjects, including but not limited to English, Social Studies, Spanish, and pre-high school mathematics. In particular, my areas of expertise are anything reading/writing related, and organizational/study skills such as note taking, planning assignments or preparing for tests. With an excellent private, college-prep high school education and the completion of my undergraduate education, I can confidently provide the guidance students need to overcome the limitations holding them back from reaching their full potential. I've worked with kids of all ages, from 7-year-olds to college age, and am experienced in private tutoring, home school tutoring, and working through college tutoring departments. Most importantly, I'm patient, persistent and understanding to the varying learning styles of different students.
RN
Reviewed by Rosita N. 5/5 stars
Anya has been working with our daughter for most of the last year and has been absolutely wonderful. She is organized and energetic, while also warm and supportive. She reads her student's academic availability and adjusts her expectations of them for each tutoring session; she knows exactly how much to challenge. She goes beyond tutoring the subject and teaches her students study skills and organizational skills so they become independent learners. She knows how to engage students and makes learning of subjects very accessible by finding comparisons in the subject matter to current events or other subjects that are of interest to her students. She has done an outstanding job of adapting to our daughter's learning style. We are lucky to have found her.
Ina L.'s Photo

Ina L.|Arroyo Grande, CA

$20-25/hr 10 yrs exp 53 yrs old

Experienced Nanny With 20 Years Of Experience - Love Kids And Pets

Responds within a few hours
(1)
I came to the US as an Au Pair in 1991. I have experience as an Au Pair for 1-1/2 years, where I worked for 3 different families in Yardley, PA and Sugarland, TX. In Yardley I was caring for a 5-year-old boy as a live in Nanny. My duties consisted of picking him up from the bus after school, making a snack, playing with him, doing homework with him, doing light housework and laundry as it related to the child, and preparing snacks and light meals for the child. In TX I was overseeing the care of 2 girls ages 9 and 12 years as a live-in Nanny. The father was a single Dad and also a busy attorney. My responsibilities were similar to the ones at my position in PA. After coming to CA in 1991, I watched 3 boys ranging in ages from 3 to 12 years, during the days. I would pick them up from school and supervise their homework and play. I have now been a mom for over 20 years, and as such volunteered as a teachers' assistant for 10 years, in my children's' various classrooms, and as a Girls Scout troop leader. During my kids' times at school, I also volunteered with a program, as I enjoy reading a great deal, and have instilled that love into my own children. I have also worked as a team and recreational coach at a gymnastics club, here in town, coaching boys and girls ages 3 and up in recreational and competitive gymnastics. I have 2 children, myself, who were both honor roll students and very involved in sports. My 21-year-old has played softball since age 5, and up until last year played. She now lives in SLO where she works full-time in a commercial bakery, very successfully. My 16-year-old is a junior in high school, where she takes 3 AP classes, despite working every night and Saturdays as a gymnastics coach. She was a dancer and competitive gymnast, and later switched to the high school cheer squad. I have always been very involved in all their activities and love being around kids. Having grown up in Germany, my native language is German. If that is something that interests your family, I would love to speak German to your children, therefore teaching them a second language, effortlessly. We have 2 small dogs, which we rescued, so will welcome and gladly care for your pets, as well. I work from home and can therefore set my own schedule, so my hours can be adjusted to your family's needs. I'm looking forward to meeting you and your little ones and thank you for considering me for your child care needs.
Showing 1 - 5 of 5

FAQs for finding reading tutors in Arroyo Grande

In 2021, how much does it cost to hire a reading tutor in Arroyo Grande, CA?
Hiring a local reading tutor in Arroyo Grande, CA on Care.com will cost an average of $18.75 per hour as of May 2021. This rate may vary depending on the experience each candidate has, how often you will need them to help your child with reading and the age of your child.
How can I find a reading tutor near me in Arroyo Grande?
Care.com currently has 5 reading tutors in Arroyo Grande, CA. You can search for candidates by their distance from Arroyo Grande and compare your options by hourly rate, the experience each reading tutor has and the specific skills they can teach. You can also see reviews from other families in Arroyo Grande that have worked with a reading tutor you're interested in.
What questions should I ask a potential reading tutor in Arroyo Grande?
The goal of hiring a reading tutor is to improve your child's grades and vocabulary. Ask questions about the process each tutor uses to get these results from the kids they've worked with in the past. Also ask each reading tutor if they are familiar with some of the goals the schools in Arroyo Grande have. Finally, see how long they are willing to commit to helping your child with their reading tasks. Your child may only need a few tutoring sessions or long-term help with their reading that could require the tutor to stay with them the entire school year.