Odd Jobs in Bowie, MD

Search 4 opportunities in Bowie, MD.

A new job is posted every minute on Care.com - don't miss out.

Find a job that fits what you're looking for.

Filter by:

Hiring Now near Bowie:

Hands-on Care Needed For My Mother - Mom has dementia which is p...

Full Time $17 – 25/hr Starts 03/09 Bowie, MD
About who needs care: Mom has dementia which is progressing. She has been a music teacher and musician for most of her life. She likes English detective shows and classical music, classical jazz, orchestra and big band music. She has trouble remembering words and is often frustrated that she can't do the things she used to or talk about things the way she used to. She has limited mobility but can walk and mostly take care of herself at this time. She forgets about things on the stove so needs others to either cook for her or make sure whatever is on the stove doesn't burn. Most of the people who meet her like her and enjoy spending time with her. Getting outside to walk with her walker when it's warmer and talking and listening to people about their lives is something she loves to do. She has a lot of headaches and is often in pain and can't take most pain medications. About the care needs: 1st - They have to be comfortable with cats. We have one. He is a sweet cat but will wake mom up at 7 a.m. to be fed (because she will do that). A good fit is someone who knows how to interact with people who have dementia - i.e. doesn't contradict but redirects, etc.. Someone who can help her with memory care and who is able to keep a calm voice (though she is having a harder time hearing these days). For bathing and other assistance we need a woman. Otherwise, a kindly man would be fine as well. One of the people we need would need to be able to be here from around midnight to 10 a.m. She often gets up in the night and we need someone who can do safety supervision. She has most often slid off her bed at about 5-7 a.m. (we now have a rail and she hasn't fallen since we put that on the bed). When she wakes up in the middle of the night she is usually doing so because of the cat or to go to the bathroom. To have someone make sure that she doesn't fall or get lost in the house would take a huge load off of my shoulders and allow me to sleep in the hours I used to sleep. Services needed include: meal preparation, errands / shopping, light housekeeping, companionship, feeding, and bathing / dressing.
Previous jobs in Bowie
See some jobs that were posted or filled recently.
Showing 1 - 4 of 4