Portland Math Tutors

Search 142 math tutors in Portland, OR.

Average rate: $19.00/hr.

Find a math tutor that fits your needs.

Filter by:

Find Math Tutors in Portland:

Jaydon Z.'s Photo

Jaydon Z.|Portland, OR

$20-35/hr 2 yrs exp 22 yrs old

Turn Learning Into A Fun Puzzle With An Engineering Graduate!

(2)
Hello! I am a mechanical engineering graduate who is focused and loves solving problems creatively. I also love art and photography! I realized my love of tutoring working at an homework help program for a year and a half at a Middle School in California. I also love teaching my two nieces while I spend time watching them. From these experiences, I learned how to create an environment where students are not afraid of making mistakes, and can say "I can do that!" when there is a challenging problem. I am approachable, energetic, patient, supportive, and I like to make learning like a fun puzzle--students have the knowledge pieces and just have to put them together! I am looking for tutoring opportunities to help students achieve their goals in math and science from elementary to high school level, but can also teach engineering concepts at a college level. I am passionate about tutoring to all ages, and have many insights to share from my time studying these subjects.
Background Check
AG
Reviewed by Amber G. 5/5 stars
Jaydon worked with my two girls (ages 7 & 11) four days a week for weeks. We're a homeschool family and due to family medical issues we were not able to give our kiddos enough learning time. He came over with a smile everyday and helped the girls work through all their subjects, but was especially gifted in science, math and engineering. They learned so much - he was a perfect fit for us!
Melissa S.'s Photo

Melissa S.|Tigard, OR

$20-45/hr 8 yrs exp 32 yrs old

Experienced Teacher For Online Classwork Support

Avg response < 1 hrs
(1)
Due to COVID, I am only open to remote tutoring at this time. I am an experienced educator looking to help support your student during their remote learning experience! I have 5 years of experience teaching Elementary and 4 years of tutoring Elementary/Middle School-aged students. Before teaching in the US, I was an English Teacher in Japan for 3 years. For 3 years I was a 4th grade Reading Teacher. For the past 2 years I have been an English as a Second Language teacher where I supported students' language acquisition and co-taught Math and Science classes in 2nd and 5th grade. For the past 4 years, I have been a tutor for a very bright boy with ADHD. I worked closely with him and his mother to review and teach personalized strategies to help him succeed and gain confidence. We worked primarily on math, but I also supported other subjects as necessary. During COVID, I taught online courses with my own students and also provided online support with the student I tutored.
SR
Reviewed by Stefanie R. 5/5 stars
Melissa has been our tutor for my two boys for the last 4 years and has become part of our family over this period of time. She is not only a superb and highly qualified teacher but a true dedicated professional, highly dependable and passionate about teaching children and seeing them grow and develop. Melissa is very patient and able to connect to children very well. She has also babysat for us and took care of my boys in the summers, providing them with enriching learning material and fun games. We love Melissa and were very sad to see her move away. I highly recommend Melissa for any tutoring and babysitting services you may need!
Showing 1 - 10 of 142