Houston Math Tutors

Search 532 math tutors in Houston, TX.

Average rate: $17.00/hr.

Find a math tutor that fits your needs.

Here are some tutors in Houston:

Cactus G.'s Photo

Cactus G.|Houston, TX

$20-25/hr 10 yrs exp 44 yrs old

15 Plus Years Experience Educating Students With Learning Differences.

(4)
Two years ago I had the opportunity to work for the parents instead of for the school district when I started tutoring. I loved it so much I never went back to the classroom. I get to focus on the students needs instead of test scores and paperwork. You will not find another educator with a greater passion for bringing success to a student who has previously been worn down with what they perceive as failure. As a child, I struggled with math, it was extremely difficult for me to learn so I acted out in class so my peers wouldn't think I was "dumb'. Kids who struggle in math love to hear that I hated math too. I strive to make the subjects I tutor relevant and reliable to each individual students I work with.
UO
Reviewed by Uchechukwu O. 5/5 stars
Cactus is a wonderful child care provider and tutor! My daughter is on the autism spectrum and I specifically picked Cactus for her experience working with special needs children. You never know how good someone will be based on just a profile, so I did not have extremely high expectations. I was wrong not too with Cactus! My daughter was not potty trained and still used pull-ups prior to Cactus starting. Its was something I did not know whether my daughter would be able to do on a consistent basis. Within 2 weeks (probably less) my daughter was completely potty trained and has not used pill ups since (I tried seemingly everything so it wasnt from lack of effort, it speaks more to Cactus' abilities!). Cactus also increased my daughter's ability to read and write significantly over a 2.5 month period. The progress my daughter made with Cactus was amazing! Cactus is also a very compassionate, thoughtful, and patient care giver who became like a part of the family! I highly recommend her!
Thomas N.'s Photo

Thomas N.|Houston, TX

$20-25/hr 5 yrs exp 28 yrs old

Science And Math Tutor W/ BA Chemistry From Rice And MS Physiology From Case Western

Avg response < 2 hrs
(1)
I have a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry from Rice University and a Master's degree in Physiology from the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. My first experience in tutoring was immediately starting in the second year of college when I was urged to do so due to my high marks in my freshman courses. Since then, I have also taught students as a tutor. I work with students 1-on-1 to determine their needs. After they explain to me how their course functions, we come up with a plan for what they would like to work on regularly. For science courses, this usually means working on practice problems which I observe students do. I try to see any mistakes students keep making and teach them to avoid those mistakes and also teach them about the correct ways to solve certain problems. My rate for all students is $25/hr (open to reduced rates for more hours).
CK
Reviewed by Carol K. 5/5 stars
Thomas is soft spoken and wonderful tutor. He is very patient while tutoring my nephew and works to make sure he understands concepts. Physics is a very hard subject and Thomas does not make my nephew feel inadequate. During a recent session, Thomas stayed 3 hours to help my nephew with homework. Once the session was over, Thomas then explained to me that my nephew was assigned homework but had not been taught the lessons nor formulas prior to the homework. I am very grateful for Thomas because without Thomas, my nephew would have received an F on that homework. Instead my nephew received A's on both homework assignments. I highly recommend Thomas; he is an awesome tutor.
Showing 31 - 40 of 532