Brockton Companion Care

7 Companions in Brockton, MA

Average rate: $15.00/hr

Post a job for free today!

Filter by:

Available Now in Brockton

Previously Posted:

Barbara G.'s Photo

Barbara G.|Brockton, MA

$10-20/hr 5 yrs exp 64 yrs old

Senior Care

(1)
My name is Barbara. At the age of 58 I still have a youthful spirit inside. Ever since I was a young girl, I have always enjoyed being around elderly. I enjoyed the stories they told. I enjoyed watching black and white movies with them. Elders are either great story tellers, givers of gifts, playful with grands or they were sick, neglected, not appreciated, misunderstood, and not listened to. This is where I come in. I care for all of the scenarios above. I especially like being around elders where there is not much time that their children can give to them because of their busy schedule. I would be a great companion because I give love, am understanding and compassionate. I would keep records of our time together and what we ate or any activities done in that day. I like to play board games, cards, and made up games. I love to read. I like to sing, color in coloring books, watch documentaries, the History channel, war movies, king and queen movies, politics etc. I have five children and only one lives with me. He has Asperger's and Autism. He is affectionate, 19 years old, an artist, very good on the computer and likes to stay home. I have a goal to send him to college where he can live on weekdays and come home on the weekends. I have taken care of five elderly women and three have passed on. I have a father who is 77. I visit him often and vice versa. I help clean his apartment, wash his back, he comes to my house to eat and we watch westerns together. Right now I am taking care of a 48 year old stroke victim. I have to prepare her breakfast 5 days per week, give her a bath, walk with her for four days per week, and clean her apartment. I can provide references upon request. I am also a massage therapist and can do cranial sacral energy work. I am basically looking for private work. I prefer not to do telecommunications jobs, sales, cashiering and massages anymore. I will consider giving massages but for private pay. I can clean very well and enjoy organizing very much. If I have to clean I would like light work. I have been cleaning houses for a while. I'm looking for a change of pace and to do something else I like to do which is being with the elderly if they don't mind being with me.
Showing 1 - 7 of 7