Lessons in Everett

Find instructors.  Choose from 6.

Average rate: not available/hr.

Post a job free!

Filter by:

Available now!

Previously Posted:

Keikeya M.'s Photo

Keikeya M.|Everett, WA

$10-20/hr 10 yrs exp 31 yrs old

Full-Time Nanny With Ten Years Of Experience

(2)
I'm Kee, a Scottish-American philosophy major with 12 years of child care experience. I'm Infant and Pediatric CPR and First Aid certified. Before I switched majors, I was studying early childhood education, which means I have taken 40 credit hours in classes such as Health, Safety and Nutrition for Young Children, Infant and Child Development and Early Literacy Development, to name a few. I have also taken non-accredited courses on infant sleep, infant communication and play and working with children who have special needs. I have worked with families of all sizes and accommodations including families with twins and triplets and children with special needs, such as Autism, Down syndrome and Cystic Fibrosis. I'm familiar with physical, speech and occupational therapy for little ones and have experience working with in-home therapists. I also have a spotless driving record and I am able to provide transportation. A typical day of caring for your child will include preparing their meals, reading books, incorporating sensory and language development into their play, outdoor time (weather permitting), musical games/lessons, arts and crafts and cleaning up all of our messes. I will help them develop an appreciation and responsibility for cleaning up after themselves. Clean-up also includes any meal-prep mess made in the kitchen (which means I wash the dishes and put them away) and light vacuuming/sweeping of the rooms we use. My approach to caring for children is gentle, peaceful and child-led. Every child is different and I take the time to get to know them and mirror our daily activities around their needs and interests. I strive to create an environment which encourages the healthy development of a child's personality, physicality, intellect and emotional well-being. I will not punish your children. I will be at their side and giving age-appropriate explanations as to why certain behaviors should be avoided, guiding and encouraging them toward positive behaviors. In rare instances when a child will simply not cooperate with my approach, a supervised "time-out" will be given, but this is usually a last resort. I'm a hands-on caregiver, which means, I roll around on the floor, climb on playground equipment, do voices for characters in a story, sing along to their favorite songs, help with homework and help as much as I can with extra-curricular activities, assuming I have some experience in the subject matter (I'll play soccer with them if they're preparing for a big game or help run through their recital songs on the piano). For babies and small toddlers, I provide baby wearing. I'm cloth diaper/EC friendly and will work with you and your child on restroom independence when they are ready. I provide bottle cleaning/sterilization and have firsthand experience handling and preparing breast milk. I'm a mother. I have been in the trenches and I understand the reality of a child's needs. I especially understand how important it is to respect a parent's wishes for their child. You'll likely have specific and individualized requests for your children while they're in my care. I will always do my best to meet those requests. I have experienced it all and I am prepared for anything you or your child throws my way. I speak Gaelic and Latin fluently, which helps me pick up other languages quickly. If there's a specific language you would like me to speak with your child or if you'd like me to teach them a new language, I am at your beckon call. In the past, I have also spoken Spanish and French with families, though I wouldn't call myself fluent in these two languages (use it or lose it). I also know "baby" sign language and I am regularly adding words to my vocabulary.
Showing 1 - 6 of 6