At Care.com, we realize that cost of care is a big consideration for families. That's why we are offering an estimate which is based on an average of known rates charged by similar businesses in the area. For actual rates, contact the business directly.

Details and information displayed here were provided by this business and may not reflect its current status. We strongly encourage you to perform your own research when selecting a care provider.

Details and information displayed here were provided by this business and may not reflect its current status. We strongly encourage you to perform your own research when selecting a care provider.

SPECIAL OFFER
We offer 5% sibling discount
In business since: 2018
Total Employees: 2-10

LICENSING INFORMATION

State license status: CURRENT (Care.com verified on 10/7/2020)
This business has satisfied Massachusetts's requirements to be licensed. For the most up-to-date status and inspection reports, please view this provider's profile on Massachusetts's licensing website.
Licensing requirements typically include:
  • Complying with safety and health inspections
  • Achieving the required levels of educational training
  • Maintaining a minimum caregiver-to-child ratio
  • Other state-defined requirements

Hours

Monday :
8:00AM - 4:00PM
Tuesday :
8:00AM - 4:00PM
Wednesday :
8:00AM - 4:00PM
Thursday :
8:00AM - 4:00PM
Friday :
8:00AM - 4:00PM
Saturday :
Closed
Sunday :
Closed

Program Details

Type
Child Care Center/Day Care Center
Preschool (or Nursery School or Pre-K)
Additional Details
Emergency backup care
Summer care / camp
Philosophy
Developmental (Play-Based)
Cooperative
Outdoor/Nature
Languages
English
Hindi
Spanish
Teacher/Student Ratio:
1:5
Program Capacity:
28

Cost & Availability

Class Type Rate Rate Type Availability *
Toddler $ 625 per week 9
Preschool $ 495 per week 8
Pre-K $ 495 per week 8
*availability last updated on 09/24/2020
OFFERINGS
Full Time (5 days/wk)
Part Time (1-4 days/wk)
PAYMENT OPTIONS
  • Personal Check|
  • Cash|
  • Credit Card

Ratings & Reviews

( 6)
Laura S
10/03/2020
We sent our daughter to Diki Shining Star starting at 5 months old, and she attended for two years until we moved away. The hardest thing about our move was leaving Diki. It is such a special place. Not only did our daughter receive excellent care, but she developed real and lasting relationships with her teachers and her classmates. It is such a caring and collaborative community, and the teachers (and the other kids and families!) became like family to us. We miss everyone so much! I can't recommend them enough.
Reply from DIKI SHINING STAR CHILDCARE CENTER
Thank you Laura for your kind words and always being there for us. we miss you guys too...
10/29/2020
Elizabeth S
09/30/2020
We decided to send our toddler to diki because we agreed with their philosophy. Given the fact that there are many daycare in the area and the market is competitive, the choice depends on what you are looking for.
• They offer a good mix of learning and stimulation for both the kids mental and physical health. Kids are taught mindfulness and meditations as well as their regular academic activities.
• The staff offer the right blend of being affectionate as well as making sure the kids learn good manners.
• The director and teachers are communicative, photos, messages and posts are regularly updated.
• During this pandemic the most important criteria was Transparency and Prompt Communication and the staff at diki have been great at keeping their word.
So we are very happy with how things have turned out.
Reply from DIKI SHINING STAR CHILDCARE CENTER
Thank you Elizabeth for your kind words and also thank you for trusting us during this tough times with your little one...
10/29/2020
Cassie
08/19/2020
Horrible, hi mama app is not updated throughout the day. Kids come home with more than half the food sent, although when child is home all is eaten.
My daughter is starving by the time she's out.
Not sure if daily outdoor activities are actually daily.
Only accuracy seems to be toileting.
The door bell hasn't worked for three weeks.

The director is rather devious, seems like they are just filling spots based on what parents want to hear, lack of follow through.

It seems like Anne would rather screen calls than just answer the phone.

All around I feel my daughters safety is compromised.
Reply from DIKI SHINING STAR CHILDCARE CENTER
Hi Miss Cassie
sorry for the late response, We just came across your REVIEW today. First of all we at Diki shining star childcare center would like to apologize for the bad experience you had with our center which led you to leave a review for us. However we believe in learning from our mistakes and moving forward ensuring our parents and children have a good experiences while they are part of our small community. For us the child's safety and well being always comes first. so, could you be kind enough to elaborate more about the reason behind your Review, so that moving forward we can make sure that the parents are satisfied with our service.
Thank you
chhimi gurung (The owner)
09/24/2020
M A
10/17/2018
My daughter started there in September and it has been great! All the caregivers are very calming, patient and flexible. They do fun activities daily and I have noticed that her verbal skills have increased significantly since she started there. I am very happy with the center and would highly recommend it!
Reply from DIKI SHINING STAR CHILDCARE CENTER
Thank you for the review ...
09/24/2020
Daphna
10/12/2018
We have two children in the day care and we couldn't be happier. The teachers are very responsive to children's needs and parental requests. Days are full of fun and educational activities for both toddlers and infants. Highly recommend!
Daphne J
10/02/2018
I love this place. It is just starting up and so there's a chance to get in before it's more widely discovered. Chimmi, Ms. Yankee and Ms. 'Jazz' are exceptionally good with kids. I looked at a lot of daycares and this is one of very few where I feel like every single staff person is super. They've been so accommodating with my 2.5 year old and I. The space is bright, clean and cheerful. They make great use of the two parks right near by and the Cambridge Library. They will be teaching the kids meditation and kindness. I only wish they provided Tibetan food to the kids; perhaps in the future.
Reply from DIKI SHINING STAR CHILDCARE CENTER
Thank you Daphna for the review. we are so happy you guys chose us for the girls. we love having them . we will provide Tibetan food for lunch for sure in the future and you are welcome to join us :)
09/24/2020
SPECIAL OFFER
We offer 5% sibling discount
Add Another child
Mon Wed Fri
Tues Thur
Mornings All Day
Afternoons
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.