Garden Grove Home Health Aides

2 home health aides in Garden Grove, CA.
Average rate: $14.50/hr.
Post a job for free today!

Filter by:

Available Now!

Previously Posted:

Paula R.'s Photo

Paula R.|Garden Grove, CA

$10-25/hr 9 yrs exp 62 yrs old

Home Health Aide Available Part-Time Or As Live In. Personal Care Attended Available Part Time. Also Available For Companionship, Housekeeping And Meal Prep Prefer As Live In.

I am currently taking care of a senior who can't take care of herself anymore. When I first moved in it was to keep her company and fix her dinner and lunch. She could still get herself up and showered and dressed and fix her own breakfast as long as she didn't use the stove. She has been diagnosed with dementia which is slowly becoming worse. She had a fall and broke her leg right below her hip. She was in the hospital for a week then transferred to a SNF Facility and was there for almost 3 months. Before the fall she traveled around with her walker and did things on her own like going to the bathroom, going to bed on her own. She did everything for herself except being able to use the stove. Now she won't even try to use the walker or do anything for herself with a little assistance. I do everything for her from changing her diapers (I rarely can get her to tell me when she has to go anymore). I know deep down she could use that walker again with practice cause I have seen her do it. She has dementia and possible onset Alzheimer's, she has high blood pressure. I have also had to deal with wound care with her. She has severe arthritis, osteoporosis and seems to give up on anything of doing herself. I take care of sorting and dispensing her medicine. I take care of her in spite of having to go to dialysis 4 days a week. I started doing care in 2007 when my parents needed help. My father had heart disease and emphysema. My mother was recovering from a long battle of pneumonia. I dealt with all the treatments the required. I do have interest but some are hard to do now such as traveling at least during the holiday time to visit my son's who are in the navy. Currently they give me such a hard time about it but as soon I point out I don't ask for time off except for this. I also love to read and play board games. Someday I'd like to learn to knit. Also going to Catholic mass on Sunday is very important to me. I may be doing a lot more than I signed on for but I really love taking care of others. All my life I was looked at as the caretaker. I came from a big family and felt I needed to take care of everyone when I could.
Showing 1 - 2 of 2