Quakertown Companion Care

5 Companions in Quakertown, PA

Average rate: $14.25/hr

Post a job for free today!

Filter by:

Available Now in Quakertown

Previously Posted:

Karen M.'s Photo

Karen M.|Quakertown, PA

$15-20/hr 4 yrs exp 70 yrs old

Have Been Part Time Caregiver/Companion For the Past 4 Years

Avg response < 24 hrs
(4)
Caring for seniors began in my own family with caring for my mother while she lived with us for 10 years during which time she had open heart surgery and many other health issues. Prior to that I cared for my father-in-law with Parkinson's. I started working for an agency in 2010 that hired caregivers 55 and over. It's been a very positive experience for me. I have had the opportunity to have assignments with wonderful people. It is so rewarding to be able to help someone who so desperately needs it. I love to be able to be there to cheer someone up, give them focused attention, to hear their stories and share mine. I love asking about their past history and getting them involved in things they can remember, sharing jokes and having good laughs! Helping my ladies with their makeup, fixing their hair, putting on nice clothes, putting on their favorite jewelry if these are things they use to do and can't anymore, makes them feel good about themselves, that they can still look nice. I love to give them manicures if they like it. If there is a computer available, I enjoy showing them beautiful scenery, etc. I love to take pictures and share them with my people. I have always found they enjoy it. I have discovered my niche and find it so rewarding. I have many references. I received recognition from families of my receivers having done a wonderful job for their loved one. My boss has given me very favorable recognition. I have four years experience working with a world wide agency. I have had the opportunity to take on line classes in elder care including dementia, safety and other elder related issues. I also attended informational programs dealing with elder care at the main office. I am a very outgoing, friendly and caring person. I am clean living and speaking. I have provided transportation to medical and non medical appointments, prepared meals, performed light housekeeping, shopping, organizing. I am also animal friendly.
Showing 1 - 5 of 5