Sarah B.

Part-time, 24 year old nanny from Portland, OR with 10 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Portland, OR | 24 yrs old
10+ years experience
part-time $15-20/hr
Portland, OR | 24 yrs old | 10+ years experience | part-time $15-20/hr
Meet Sarah
Hi there! I am located in Inner SE Portland and am looking for a part-time position (10-15 hrs/wk). I have been working part-time (Mon, Tues, Thurs) since Sept. 2014 watching a 3-year-old girl. However, her family will be out of country the next three weeks and I am hoping to find some extra work during that time. Last summer I have been cared for a 6 1/2-year-old girl and her 8-year-old brother during a transition period for both the family and me. Before that I cared for a 17-month-old boy and a 4-year-old girl for 18 months, primarily spending time with the baby, with big sister joining us when not in school. Starting in February 2012, I cared for a 2-year-old boy and his 5-year-old sister for the 6 months leading up to my move from Vashon Island, WA to Portland. Their parents hired me with the understanding that I would be moving sometime in 2012. And before that, I nannied for a family with two children who were 9 months and 4-years-old at the start of the job. All in all, I have been nannying as a full-time job for 4 years now, and have over 10 years of experience in childcare. Each of the families I have worked with over the past decade will be happy to give glowing reviews of my time spent with their children. In addition to the genuine joy I experience when caring for and watching children grow; I possess many characteristics and skills that compliment my work. I am a great listener and am often told by friends and employers that I have nurturing and comforting nature; they they feel relaxed around me. I am kind, empathetic, generally very happy, and quick to laugh. I am easygoing, yet good at setting boundaries and following house rules to ensure safety and stability for everyone. I have studied a number of different dance styles over the years with a focus on ballet and modern, but also including several styles of Latin dance, African, funk, and am now having a go at hip-hop. I studied piano for 11 years and am a huge music lover with an affinity for many genres from all over the globe. While I never studied drama, growing up home schooled, in the country, with a neighborhood full of children and the fields and forest as our playground; we developed great amateur acting skills and vivid imaginations. I am quite interested in the history and composition of the fine arts as well. I love to read in order to learn about history and different cultures, and also as a means of relaxation. I took French in high school and college (though I am admittedly rusty these days), and am in the process of learning Spanish. I am excited about my new yoga practice, as well as eating delicious and wholesome food. I am fond of animals having grown up on a small farm, and like to spend time during the day outdoors (weather permitting). Activities that I enjoy doing with children - aside from playtime, and depending on age and parental preferences - include: board and card games, puzzles, building things (Lego, blocks, blanket forts, etc.), arts and crafts, lots of reading, nature walks, cuddling (upon request); outings to parks, libraries, museums, play groups, play dates, music and dance classes, and story times. I am happy to assist with child related cleaning, food prep, and errands; but will require additional compensation for any unrelated side jobs. I have experience with newborns-teens, am comfortable with caring for up to 4 children at a time, and have a good understanding of child development (as well as variances in development) and sibling/peer dynamics. I have experience with children with food and environmental allergies and am CPR/first aid certified. I own a car, have a clean driving record, can provide a background check, and am a non-smoker. If you have any additional questions, or would care to see my resume and discuss my availability/pay rate, please do not hesitate to contact me. I look forward to hearing from you! ~Sarah.
Reliable Transportation
Hire again
Western Washington University
Associate's in Human Services
Phone verified
provider provider
Email verified
provider provider
Accepts credit cards
provider provider
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
First Aid Training
provider provider
Willing to travel
15 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in