Tutoring & Lessons Provider from Ewa Beach, HI 96706 - Care.com
full-time

Matthew S.

(1)
Cared for 2 families
$15 – 25/hr Ewa Beach, HI
3 yrs exp 33 yrs old
PREMIUM
Join to contact

Meet Matthew

I was previously an elementary school teacher. Now, I work with kids as a mental health counselor. I have my Masters in Social Work from Columbia University. I received my BA from Duke University, majoring in History, and a double minor in Psychology and Education. I specialize in Reading and Math, but I am able to tutor your child in any grade, and any subject matter. I have my K-12 Teaching Certification, as well as my K-12 Gifted Education Teaching Certification.
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 30 mi
Math
English
Science
Test Prep
Special Education

Matthew Can Also Help With:

Date Night
Transportation
Light Cleaning
Groceries / Errands
Pets
Organizing / Laundry
Packing / Moving
Meal Prep

Most recent review

TP
Tanvi P. Hired Matthew
Jan 10, 2021
We hired Matt while we were here in Hawaii working virtually for several weeks. Our 2-year-old boy-girl twins were always excited to see him! He took them on several adventures, such as the zoo and the beach. Despite not having many toys for them to play with, Matt always found a way to keep them engaged and learning - without a lot of screen time - while having fun. He also worked with the twins on potty training, which went really well. The twins tend to struggle at bed time, especially with someone other than us putting them down. However, the twins were always asleep when we got back. Matt also made it a point to send pictures and updates at regular intervals throughout the day, making us feel at ease. We can't wait to hire him when we come back!
Showing results 1 of 1
Education
Columbia University
2015

Graduate Degree in Social Work

Duke University
2010

Bachelor's in History

Other qualifications, Certifications, and Credentials

I have my NC Teaching Licensure in K-12, as well as my Gifted Education Certification.

Verified info

Phone Verified
Email Verified