Carol P.

Part-time nanny from Garfield, NJ with 10 years of experience and a background check on file
Garfield, NJ |
10+ years experience
part-time $15-25/hr
Garfield, NJ | 10+ years experience | part-time $15-25/hr
Meet Carol
I have 12 years of experience as a teacher's assistant for pre-K through 1st grade. I had 9 years of experience with children with autism teaching ABA discrete trial/positive reinforcement and 4 years with kindergarten, 1st and 2nd grade regular ed. When I took a package after 28 years in a corporation, I applied for a teacher's assistant position for one reason; I was able to have my summers off! After being in the classroom for one week, I felt more alive than I had for a long time in my corporate job. The kids were great and fun, even when we were doing work. They gave me a run for my money and I loved it. I became interested in special education and pursued a position in a school for children with Autism. It was there that I learned ABA positive reinforcement. That was the most challenging & most rewarding thing that I have ever done. I finally landed a position at a school and was there for 6 years. Potty training was my specialty. After being laid off because of budget cuts, I got a position in my own town working with 1st and 2nd grade children with Autism. They were mostly high functioning so I had the opportunity to take part in transitioning one or two children at a time into a regular ed 1st grade, where I assisted them in regular scholastic. I was employed by the school district for 5 years and I absolutely love what I do. In May when the reorganization was announced and I was among the 23 people being laid off, I was very sad to say the least. Aside from my job, I took care of my mom for the past 4 years. About a year ago she was diagnosed with Parkinson. She was in and out of the hospital for the last 2 months, and she passed away on May 25, just 10 days after I got notice. That was really hard. After a lot of soul searching, I have decided to put in for my pension and work with children privately. I guess what I'm trying to say is that my life is very flexible now. I have just myself and 2 Shih Tzu to care for. I have all my reviews, letters from the principals, teachers and parents which are available upon request.
Reliable Transportation
Hire again
Bergen Community College
Some college
Phone verified
provider provider
Email verified
provider provider
Background check on file
provider provider
Willing to travel
15 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Available on short notice
provider provider

Join free today

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in