CUNY Kingsborough Community College - Tutors

Browse available babysitters, tutors, pet sitters, and more from current students and alumni at CUNY Kingsborough Community College

Tutors attending CUNY Kingsborough Community College

Abbye S.'s Photo

Abbye S.|Marietta, GA

$35-50/hr 6 yrs exp

Experienced Tutor K-12 Educational Tutor Available During School Hours, Nights And Some Weekend

I am seeking part-time educational or companion employment, willing to go to your house, have up to 4 students, and teach several areas K-12. I am also willing to do companion or pet therapy for both young and elderly. Master's Degree, Certified In Biology, I have stayed home since having children and tutor on nights and weekends for past few years. Now that my youngest is in pre-K, 9:00-3:30, I can have sessions during the day as well. My Master's Thesis was "Teaching Students Through Multiple Learning Strategies based on Individual's Learning Style." I believe meeting each child where he or she is not just academically but socially as well. I have tutored elementary students, middle school, and high school (including AP courses). The range has been below level to significantly above grade level. I am a coach joining with the parent or any other academic partner to encourage the child to succeed. I meet each challenge with hard work and research so that I can offer my best to each child. I have tutored CRCT Prep, SAT Prep Reading, Math K-8, Literature, AP Literature, AP Art History, and History/Social Studies and several sciences. I am currently tutoring AP Government, AP Literature and Environmental Science, as well as organization skills. In the public school system, I taught K-12, Ecology, Environmental Science, Biology, Earth Science and Life Science. I am familiar with many learning styles and learning differences or disabilities. I am a Christian and my own family will always be my priority, however, I have a big heart and I am extremely loyal to my students. As far as P.E. goes, I'm an active person who enjoys playing Physical Education as well. My mom is a professional artist and retired K-12 art teacher, so I have inherited some skill and acquired knowledge in several media. What I don't know, I seek to learn, and what I learn, I long to teach. I'm looking for part-time employment. Locations will be a consideration, so I can be home when necessary.
Showing 1 - 4 of 4
Displayed caregivers have had active profiles within the last 60 months but may not have current active accounts or background checks. Results are illustrative only and may not reflect current availability. members have access to active, background checked providers.