Special Needs Care Jobs

Families are regularly posting special needs care jobs below.
Join free today to browse and apply online.

Get Started
When can you start working as a caregiver?

Looking for a kind, creative and energetic special needs nanny for our sweet and busy little boy.

by Mallory • Edmonton
We are looking for someone to pick up our son from his pre-school program at the U of A and watch him for a few hours after on Wednesdays, Thursdays (and some Fridays) and watch him on Monday and Fridays (when he doesn't have school). Our son is a high functioning little boy with autism spectrum disorder and apraxia (motor speech delay). He is fun, free spirited, kind, and enjoys connecting with people. He has made major strides over the past year and we would love to have someone join his life to help him continue his amazing progress and be part of our family. He is working with a great team of professionals and we would love to have someone help us work on his goals at home for speech, self care, social skills and fine motor. He does not have any major behaviors but is very busy and does well with someone who is engagine and likes to do activities with him (ie gross motor, crafts, experiments, play outside). He is very social, affectionate, curious and loves learning. The following are the shifts we need care for: Mondays/Fridays (12:30-5:30 pm). Wednesdays-Thursdays (and usually 1 friday a month he has school) - Pick-up from school at 3:30 pm* and watch him until 5:30 pm. * We will pay you for your travel time on days where you pick him up from school for up to 30 minutes. Ideally, we would like for our son to be watched at your place as we work from home, and be dropped off at the end of the day to our home but if this isn't possible, we would still highly consider him being at our home and we can rearrange our rooms. The right fit of a person is everything for us as he was very close to our previous nanny who worked with him at daycare last year and this year got a full time job. I am also a Registered Psychologist and this position is ideal for someone in university or who has special needs training. Reliability and punctuality is absolutely critical for us given the nature of my work. Note: We will be taking time off around Christmas 1-2 weeks and can negotiate schedules around then. If you are not able to start until January, please apply and let us know and we may be able to make this work. If you are only able to work a few of the days but feel this would be a great fit for you, please let us know as well as we may be able to split the position in 2.
$264 - $33917 Hr. / Week

HOME CARE WORKER NEEDED

by Sandra • Montreal
A dynamic physically disabled couple is seeking female who is reliable and that can have a flexible schedule. Position is available immediately. Some duties involve cooking, feeding, bathing, transferring, etc. Interview will be done via face time.
$180 - $23112 Hr. / Week

Female Health Care Aid (new starting wage)

by Carmen • Edmonton
COVID-19: Employer has implemented health & safety protocol; protective equipment, cleaning & negative COVID-19 confirmation. We are not able to hire staff working at other facilities/homes. We are looking for someone to be part of a great team; ready to work and learn with on the job training. You: Respect for an adult affected by a disability Believe in the capacity of adults with disabilities to make their own choices and decisions Are dedicated to maintain a strict and complex medical schedule, learning all aspects of medication and personal care Have the ability to learn, use and maintain various pieces of medical equipment Are willing to learn new ways to communicate and getting to know your employer Are able to assist with various household chores Will assist with weekly organization and appointments while maintaining medication and care schedules Will support the care of a seizure alert dog You are a strong Communicator who is interested in building strong and respectful relationships. You are excellent at maintaining Confidentiality at all times. You are excellent at maintaining Documentation and Schedules related to medication, SATS and to-do lists. You are Reliable, on-time for your shifts with low to no absenteeism. You have: Experience supporting individuals affected by a disability using a positive, strength-based, wellness approach An understanding of medical interventions, care and support including but not limited to g-tubes, tracheotomy and two person transfers A steadfast belief and commitment to inclusion, the right for all people to belong, participate and contribute to the community The ability to think and plan proactively in collaboration with others to support wellness and social skills development Wage starts at $20 per hour.
$625 - $80340 Hr. / Week

Carer for a Immobile Cancer Patient

by Paulina • Edmonton
Looking for someone to come for a 2-3 hours per day, few times a week to take care of my dad. My mother takes care of him but she needs a break here and there. He is a cancer patient with limited mobility. Duties include helping him walk to the toilet if needed and just generally supervising him for a few hours.
$932 - $1,19830 days, 2 Hr.

A companion and caregiver for a delightful 18yo girl young girl/woman

by Wade • Ottawa
She has a degenerative neurologic condition and mild/moderate autism, uses a powerchair, requires support for ADLs and transfers, and is G-tube fed. However, she is better defined by her sweet, funny, quirky personality. She is guaranteed to make you smile and laugh. She loves going to school, her tablet, spending to time with family and friends, karaoke, books, and dress-up. Must: • have experience with children and desire to be both a companion and caregiver (ADLs, facilitate therapeutic goals/programs for life skills, 1:1 supervision) • have experience or interest in learning (powerchairs, lifts, G-tubes, oral suctioning, and etc.) • Be willing to work/communicate/handover with another nurse for continuity of care • comfortable with the personal and patient challenges associated with complex/palliative care • Must be eligible to work in Canada and comply with the Standards of Nursing Practice of the College of Nurses of Ontario • Have valid CPR, driver’s license, police record check to work with Hours: • casual, Wed-Friday (###-###), possible Monday ams and opportunity for evening or weekend respite if desired. Exact schedule to be determined and there is some opportunity for flexibility with the right companion
$45 - $58 Every 2 weeks

Part time Attendant for awesome ALS client. Private home. Oakville

by Mike • Oakville
Client is an awesome 57 year old guy with a great sense of humour. We are looking for a part time employee who can work Fri/Sat/Sun evenings (9-11), and also be available to cover gaps in the schedule from our existing care team, so occasional morning shifts (8:30-1:30) or evening shifts (9-11) or overnight 11:30 - 7 AM. Requires assistance with ADLs, dressing, grooming, toileting and hygiene, transfers with ceiling lift, positioning, Range of Motion exercises, care of feeding tube, BiPap, respiratory equipment, communications, light housekeeping . Our home is outfitted with accessible and safe equipment. Client has great sense of humour, clean home with strict covid protocols. Must like cats and be comfortable in elevators. Must be legal to work in Canada - pay cheques issued and deductions taken at source. Funded Provincially via Direct Funding $19 per hour. No Agencies please. Please only apply if you can make the commute reliably to Oakville Job Types: Part-time, Permanent Salary: $19.00 per hour COVID-19 considerations: Our private home is very careful regarding covid 19. We provide PPE, ensure disinfecting and screen all visitors/carers.
$9,192 - $11,81830 days, 20 Hr.

Work as a Personal Attendant for woman with a physical disability

by Carolyn • Toronto
- Currently hiring for morning and evening care. - There are also opportunities for extra shifts and shift coverage based on availability. - Starting salary is $18.00/hour; with an increase following a three-month probationary period - No previous related experience is necessary. - Work in a highly supportive, positive atmosphere in downtown Toronto. - Get practical experience in understanding the lives of people who have diverse abilities. Job Requirements: - Must be comfortable being physically active. - Must have emotional stability, flexibility and general cheerfulness. - Must be fluent in spoken and written English. - Must be OK with cats. (One awesome cat!) - Must have or be willing to get a Police Criminal Reference Check for Vulnerable Persons. Personal assets in this job include: - Having a valid driver's license - Clean personal habits - A sociable and pleasant demeanour - Ability to focus your attention for long time periods AND shift the focus of your attention quickly - Willingness to take direction and give straightforward feedback in a timely way.
$291 - $37419 Hr. / Week

Looking for PT to FT special needs nanny

by Lesley • Winnipeg
I'm possibly going back to work soon and have not been able to get my son into daycare due to Covid. I'm flexible in hours and the start date, as I do have family to help occasionally, but need someone to help with most of the care. We do have a daycare lined up for him in March 2021, so I will only need care until then (negotiable). About C: he is a very sweet 20 month old. Loves to smile and laugh. Developmentally, he can sit unassisted (but has to be put into the position), roll both ways and loves to stand. He needs a lot of attention because he wants to explore like most toddlers, but has trouble getting around. He has a feeding tube (gtube), so I need the carer to be comfortable to learn how to feed him (I will be making all the food though). I'm not expecting anything other household things to be done; just take care of my child. I would love to have someone that is interested in doing his PT and OT exercises with him, as his development is very important. Everyone who works with him loves him and he is adorable to boot.
$395 - $50830 Hr. / Week

Looking for help managing day to day tasks, staying organized, setting goals, daily living.

by Kai • Edmonton
Looking for a special needs caregiver
$47 - $603 Hr. / Week

Looking for a caregiver for our special needs 15 year old son

by Ellen • Calgary
Special Needs Caregiver required for 18 year old boy with Fragile X. Main responsibilities to include assistance with personal care, administering medication, overseeing personal hygiene, eating, providing transport to various activities (if possible); maintain open communications with family members regarding wellbeing; ensure highest client safety and well-being; provide companionship, light cleaning duties. Skills and Qualifications • Current and valid first aid and CPR certification (obtainable if you don't have it yet) • Prior experience working with the special needs children • Ability to problem solve quickly and follow instructions and guidelines • Nursing or caregiving background an asset • Good physical condition • Vehicle as asset but not required Benefits • Flexible hours • Some overtime available • Comfortable relaxed family atmosphere Job Type: Full-time Salary: TBD Job Location: • Calgary, Alberta Required education: • High school or equivalent Required experience: • caregiving: 3 years Required language: • English Required license or certification: • CPR/First Aid
$663 - $85340 Hr. / Week
Sign Up Today
It's quick & easy!
Get Started
You are here