DeKalb Piano Lessons

Search 4 options in DeKalb, IL.

Average rate: $14.00/hr

Find a piano instructor that fits your needs.

Filter by:

Here are some instructors near you:

 Previously Posted:

Heather T.'s Photo

Heather T.|DeKalb, IL

$20-25/hr 5 yrs exp 36 yrs old

Certified Teacher/Experienced Tutor

While student teaching in a kindergarten class, I began tutoring a 1st grade student after-school. When I completed student teaching and graduated from Illinois State University with my B. S. in Elementary Education (endorsements in Language Arts and Spanish) I received my Type-03 Provisional Illinois Teaching Certificate. I spent the summer applying for jobs and tutoring 5 students who all attended the school where I student taught. When the summer was over, I had several job offers and chose to teach 2nd grade at the same school where I had student taught. I continued tutoring two students after school who were in my class for free and 4 students who weren't in my class after-school privately. At the end of my first year of teaching, the economy had changed and for the first time, all non-tenured teachers in my district were laid off. Since June 2009, I have done various things (nannying, foster care case aid, tutoring, etc.) while applying for teaching jobs. I am now looking to expand my tutoring services to rival a full-time teaching position. I genuinely enjoy teaching students one-on-one and my teaching skills have significantly improved directly because of my tutoring experiences. I have experience tutoring students 3-years-old through 8th grade. I excel in improving reading, writing, mathematics (including Algebra), science, social studies and Spanish. In addition to these subjects, I teach life skills like test-taking strategies, ISAT reading/writing strategies, organization, responsibility and finding genuine enjoyment in learning. At the initial tutoring sessions, I do an evaluation of your child's starting abilities. After that I either tutor by helping your child w/their homework, studying for tests, reteaching concepts that weren't understood in class, etc. I keep detailed notes of what we work on during the session as well as observe and evaluate their progress. In addition, I provide unique studying guides, studying materials, etc. I contact your child's teacher to get copies of books/information, etc. and ensure lines of communication are open and together we can help your child succeed. I attend IEP meetings, review report cards and make recommendations based on my knowledge of your child's learning abilities. Currently, I tutor at a library in Aurora. I would be happy to discuss the details of my location, hourly rate (negotiable), times available and references.
Showing 1 - 4 of 4