Senior Care Provider from Du Bois, PA 15801 - Care.com
part-time

Wren O.

(2)
Cared for 1 family
$20 – 30/hr Du Bois, PA
10+ yrs exp 55 yrs old
PREMIUM
Join to contact

Meet Wren

I've been a caregiver for various friends and family for over 35 years and love caring for and nurturing others. I believe every person in need of care also needs a strong and competent advocate to assist them as they maneuver through a sometimes dizzying healthcare system. My most recent experience was as caregiver for a gentleman in his seventies, both full-time 24/7 through end-stage illness and near-death experiences, to part-time work during times he's been stronger. I've created a unique, at your fingertips home healthcare planning and management system and written a book. My background as an artist and in film, TV & radio provides me with lots of creativity to infuse into whatever we're doing. I moved to PA Dec. 2018 and am considering work close to home, since my most recent employer has passed away. Please, contact me to discuss our needs and determine if we can assist one another.
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 30 mi

Wren Can Also Help With:

Date Night
Transportation
Light Cleaning
Groceries / Errands
Pets
Companion
Organizing / Laundry
Packing / Moving
Meal Prep

Most recent review

JW
Jack W. Hired Wren
Mar 22, 2016
Wren has been my caregiver, healthcare proxy and even power of attorney since 2002. It was in that year that my health began to deteriorate. Fortunately for me, that's also when we met. I had a liver transplant, renal failure and was at death's door. Wren became my medical ombudsman, interfacing between me and the University of Rochester medical staff at Strong Memorial. With her help, concern, patience and understanding I recovered. Now, some fifteen years later, I am still on the green side of the sod and will be 73 this July. During this time span I have survived prostate cancer, a stroke and limited chronic kidney failure. She continues to be my caregiver, assisting me during my daily activities. She monitors my medicines and food in-take, takes me to and from doctor and hospital visits, assists with my personal hygiene, exercise and social events. She has helped me with physical rehabilitation, too, when needed, following the directions of the professionals. You will want to check out her "Dorothy." It's a personal planning and management system for home care that my doctors and all their nurses and other staff have found to be indispensable. She is kind, caring, highly intelligent, extremely organized and sincere about care-giving. I recommend her highly and without reservation based on my fifteen years of experience with her as my caregiver (both part-time and full-time).
Showing results 1 of 2
Education
Heritage High School
1982

High school degree

Other qualifications, Certifications, and Credentials

** I love languages and have learned a little French and Russian. I'd love to learn Spanish and would enjoy advancing any of these languages through practice with whomever I am assisting, if they'd like.

Verified info

Phone Verified
Email Verified
Facebok Verified