Tanya B.

Full-time special needs caregiver from Portland, OR with 3 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Portland, OR |
3 years experience
full-time $15-25/hr
Portland, OR | 3 years experience | full-time $15-25/hr
Meet Tanya
I have experience working with adults and children with developmental disabilities, and I find this kind of work very rewarding and enjoyable. Most recently, I worked at a day center for adults with DD. I supported my clients with many activities, including arts and crafts, music, walks in the neighborhood and gardening. I also assisted clients with toileting and at meal times.

Prior to this, I lived in Newnham, England, in a special community of 100 people, 50 of whom are adults with developmental disabilities. These communities are intentional communities where carers/co-workers and residents with special needs live and work together. I lived in a residential house with four adults with developmental disabilities. I supported the residents in the household, as well as worked with them in the community's wood workshop/craft studio. Prior to working there, I spent five months volunteering at an elementary school for children with special needs, particularly those on the autistic spectrum, in Hastings, England. I worked one-on-one with children, practicing reading, playing, art, singing, computer skills, and academic work sheets, as well as helping teachers to run the classroom. I also held another volunteer position at a day center for adults with developmental disabilities in Port Townsend, WA, where I assisted the participants with a variety of art projects, as well as with music and cooking skills. I enjoyed all of these experiences very much, and I would love to continue working in this field.
Details
Willing to travel
10 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.