NANNY - Melissa V. from Philadelphia, PA 19143 - Care.com
part-time nanny

Melissa V.

(1)
$20 – 35/hr Philadelphia, PA
10+ yrs exp 36 yrs old
Join to contact

Meet Melissa

I went to school for fine arts and was a professional chef for 7 years and love kids! I have always casually babysat children since I was a teenager, but didn't start professionally working as a nanny until 2010. Prior to moving to the city I also trained to be a Doula and have attended 4 births. My experience ranges from infant to 10-year-olds but I have the most experience with infants. I have lived with 2 families that had an infant/13-month-old at the time. My nanny style is that I like to cultivate a dual respect between myself and the child, which I feel is extremely important. I pride myself in my patience. I believe this is why I get along with children so well. Without ego, I am usually liked by all children. I am very upfront and also expect good communication between myself and the parent. My qualifications are perfect for busy parents that would like to spend more quality time with the family, and not be burdened with "life stuff" like cooking, cleaning, and running errands
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 6 mi

Melissa Can Also Help With:

Date Night
Light Cleaning
Groceries / Errands
Pets
Companion
Organizing / Laundry
Meal Prep

Most recent review

TD
Talia D. Hired Melissa
Jul 16, 2020
Mel worked with our family from the time our daughter was six months old until she went to preschool. I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience. Mel is a real professional. During our time working with her, she was completely dependable: she was always on time (so important for our work schedules) and always let us know in advance when she needed time off. She respected our wishes in terms of our feeding/nursing practices, introducing solid foods, etc. and even helped by making baby food for our daughter. Most importantly, Mel really understands kids, how to take care of them, recognize their needs, and connect and talk with them. My daughter loved her and it was never an issue for us to leave the house when Mel was around! We didn't have family nearby, and Mel was one of the only other adults my daughter spent quality time with during this young time. I had total trust that my daughter was in great hands, and I have no reservations fully recommending Mel.
Showing results 1 of 1
Education
Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Bachelor's

Verified info

Email Verified