Meghan T.

Part-time, 22 year old special needs caregiver from Boston, MA with 8 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Boston, MA | 22 yrs old
8 years experience
part-time $20-25/hr

(1 review)
Boston, MA | 22 yrs old | 8 years experience | part-time $20-25/hr
(1 review)
Meet Meghan
Hi there!
I currently attend Wheelock College in Boston as a Special Education and Counseling Psychology major. I have a great deal of experience working with individuals with specific emotional, developmental, and physical needs for the past 6 years. I have experience working with individuals who have Autism, Rett syndrome, Cerebral Palsy, ADHD, OCD, learning disabilities, and various mental health related and behavioral needs. Specifically, a great deal of my work has been working with nonverbal individuals. I also am very involved with Best Buddies. A goal I always have is to provide safety, companionship, respect, and integration into the community with all the children I work with.
I was lucky enough to find my passion for education, specifically in the special education field, at a very young age when I began a weekly babysitting job for a family in my neighborhood. I worked two afternoons a week over a span of four years with a family consisting of four children, one of whom is on the Autism spectrum. My work generally consisted of assistance with homework, daily tasks, outings, meal time, and general childcare. I have also worked a great deal with pre teen and teenagers who have specific needs such as emotional and behavioral needs (frequent mood dis-regulation, tendencies to run away, ADHD, and OCD). I held a full time position last summer with a family of two girls, ages 11 and 15. One daughter displayed behavioral and emotional needs which required a great deal of positive reinforcement, routine, redirecting, and planning. The other daughter had a few learning needs. I was able to build strong relationships with both girls. During the academic year I currently work with a family as a PCA. My main responsibilities include care for an 11-year-old who has Cerebral Palsy and frequent care for her younger brother who is 5 years old. My main responsibilities include ensuring safety, self care, implementing school assignments, transportation to therapies, assistance with meal time, use of a variety of different communication aids, occasional overnights, and most of all having fun! Currently I am working with an amazing 13-year-old girl who has Rett syndrome. This is my second year working with this particular family. I plan daily activities, assist with meal time, ensure safety, and provide assistance with bathing and toileting. Feel free to inquire about further details regarding my experience. I would love to share!
Details
Accepts credit cards
provider provider
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
Willing to travel
15 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Join free to see more about Meghan.

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in