Laura C.

Part-time, 68 year old senior care provider from New Orleans, LA with 10 years of experience and a background check available upon request
New Orleans, LA | 68 yrs old
10+ years experience
part-time
New Orleans, LA | 68 yrs old | 10+ years experience | part-time $0-0/hr
Meet Laura
I had the great privilege of caring for elders for 10 years in my "Adult Family Care Home," when my daughter was young, which allowed me to be a "stay-at-home" mom. Looking back from our perspective now, she is at Loyola Law School. I must say, those were some of the most happy and rewarding years of our lives. We were a family.
I grew to appreciate the many things that an elder had to offer: a caring heart, a mind full of wisdom and experience, and the time to listen and talk. These four to six delightful people were my constant companions and most became my friends, as they would stay with us for years, sometimes.
My responsibilities encompassed just about everything that an elder might need as they were with me 24/7. This meant all homemaking activities, as well as, all medical and social needs. Since I only had a small relief staff, I did almost all of the "hands-on" ADL's (Activities of Daily Living) with or for them, including transfers, bathing, diapering, dressing, etc. I was chief cook, bottle washer, housekeeper, chauffeur, nurse, medication organizer and dispenser, and a shoulder to cry on. I also was their advocate and liaison with family, medical persons, and sometimes the legal system.
This experience enriched my life in so many ways, I felt as if I was born to do it and I always enjoy the opportunity to care for a senior again.
Details
Has transportation
provider provider
Willing to travel
20 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.