Kim B.

Part-time senior care provider from New York, NY with 10 years of experience and a background check on file
New York, NY |
10+ years experience
part-time $20-25/hr
New York, NY | 10+ years experience | part-time $20-25/hr
Meet Kim
I am newly committed to finding a rewarding position on Care. com. My corporate career background is based in Human Resources. I was working part-time for an Autistic Male Adult, I completed 2 months of training. I work hands-on 2 days/2 nights. I was fascinated with this position. Also, most recent home care experience was caring for an 86-year-old woman in South Orange, NJ, who had a shoulder injury and needed help getting started for the day. I worked Monday-Friday and some weekends if needed. Every day was different, except for one particular daily task; she had long hair and she liked it tightly braided and pinned in a neat bun. When I arrived, we had coffee together and conversation and planned our day. I would then assist her into the chairlift and help her bathe herself and get her dressed. Once downstairs, I would help with phone calls (she had some hearing loss), and clean-up the kitchen and prepare meals if needed. She had two amazing cats, and I would clean their litter and feed them. I would also run errands when needed. She was able to get in and out of a car and used a shopping cart for support during grocery shopping together. Her shoulder healed, but she still needed my help at times, and I visited on my own. I thought of her daily and she lived nearby. She had a daughter, who worked in NYC, and who visited most weekends. She was a conversationalist and I took pleasure in getting acquainted and learning about her life. We had a wonderful chemistry; we were both lucky to find each other. She gave my life new significance. I also worked for a 96-year-old woman who was bedridden. This experience was many years ago, before my corporate career. I assisted the RN with daily tasks and chores. I was introduced to her by a mutual friend. I worked part-time for more than two years. I did Red Cross training for nursing assistant at the time. I want to transition my corporate skill set into the field of rewarding care. I work well with people, I am a natural caretaker, patience is my virtue, and I am very handy. I can fix most anything. I am an artist; it is my passion and hobby. I am also athletic. I was thrilled to find this site. I am hoping to find a commitment that would offer an option for a new career. I have a car in Manhattan I can use for transport and errands if needed. I am physically fit, strong, and filled with energy and passion for life. I am also an animal lover, so pet care is something I enjoy. I have had dogs and cats all my life.
Details
Accepts credit cards
provider provider
Willing to travel
15 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.