NANNY - Kathleen E. from Denver, CO 80247 - Care.com
full-time nanny

Kathleen E.

(1)
Cared for 3 families
$15 – 25/hr Denver, CO
10+ yrs exp 48 yrs old
Join to contact

Meet Kathleen

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read my profile. My name is Kathy and I am a certified special education teacher who has decided to take the next few years off from full-time teaching to return to the art of individual child care. I have been nannying since leaving public education for an amazing special needs child, and another family with 2 girls (a toddler and preschooler) for 18 months. After that I have nannied for a wonderful family with hearing impaired twins for about 2 and 1/2 years. As they are soon to enter preschool, they will not require full-time help anymore. Therefore, I am looking for a full-time position with another family. Weekend hours are negotiable with notice as are late nights and early mornings. I am able to make a year commitment, or longer, to the right family. I am a fun, caring and engaging individual with a warm heart and a positive attitude. I enjoy teaching, playing and exploring with kids of all ages. I have been a teacher for 15 years, ranging from preschool Montessori to high school and even adult education. I began nannying full time in college for identical twin toddler girls who are now (gasp) 21 and in college. I have worked with several other families as well during the interim; several were singletons (girls) and others consisted of sibling groups of 2 and 3 (all girls) for whom I had worked for over 13 years; beginning in infancy and as families expanded. Another family had four boys with whom I have worked for 18 years on an as-needed basis, including overnights, long weekends, spring breaks, and summer care. I have taught special education as well in a Montessori pre-K through 3rd grade. I have worked with children on the autism spectrum, Down syndrome, ADHD, SPD, SID, CP, LD, communication impaired, hearing impaired, deaf, gifted and talented, behavioral disorders and many other disabilities. I can provide you with a host of references from many of my past families and employers. Lastly I am CPR/First Aid Certified, up to date on all major vaccines and have a reliable insured car. I am responsible, organized, flexible and dedicated to ensuring that your children are cared for in a loving, respectful manner. I am comfortable around all pets (myself, I have a black Lab, two cats and three turtles) and enjoy working with them as well. Thanks for looking and have a great day!
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 20 mi
CPR/First Aid Trained

Kathleen Can Also Help With:

Groceries / Errands
Pets
Organizing / Laundry
Packing / Moving

Most recent review

's Photo
Ann marie S. Hired Kathleen
May 25, 2013
Kathy is a wonderfully dedicated individual who worked well with my two children. She is nurturing, charismatic, and thoughtful to their individual needs. She tutored both children through play and imagination and taught our two and a half year old to read. She taught both children to sign over 100 words. She prepared amazingly clever meals (squash spaghetti, colorful pancakes, Mexican lasagna, etc.). She created keepsakes at each holiday-handprint ornaments, canvas paintings done but the girls, full body tracings filled with pictures, drawings and cut-outs of their favorite things. She read to them every day. Encouraged them to find the food in each day, to say something kind about themselves and each other. She forged a strong bond with both children and we enjoyed working with her dearly.
Showing results 1 of 1

Verified info

Phone Verified
Email Verified