Katherine K.

Full-time, 26 year old nanny from Baltimore, MD with 5 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Baltimore, MD | 26 yrs old
5 years experience
full-time $10-15/hr
Baltimore, MD | 26 yrs old | 5 years experience | full-time $10-15/hr
Meet Katherine
My experience with caring for children began as a summer camp counselor back in 2005 at a YMCA in NY. I spent the next four consecutive summers working with the "kiddie kamp" group, ages 2-5 and was in charge of monitoring and coordinating daily activities. The group consisted of approximately 20 children, with four counselors assigned to the unit as a whole.

I was personally responsible for the care of 5 children (boys and girls), and dealt specifically with their needs and their families. For a lot of the campers, because of the age group, this was the first time being away from their parents/guardians. Therefore, it was all that more important for me to make both child and parent feel comfortable with the new situation. The campers arrived early in the morning and we spent the entire day doing a majority of diverse activities.

These activities included, but were not limited to, arts and crafts, field (where the counselors created and organized interactive games), swim lessons (that directly involved the counselors in the water due to the children's ages), and classroom activities each afternoon, which were most important on extremely hot days.

Although having 5 children in my care during the day brought about its challenges, it was also very rewarding, and I learned a great deal from my experiences.

I have also volunteered with elementary and middle school aged children through tutoring and after-school programs. Currently, I am spending time with a foundation in Ellicott City with other college volunteers. My ultimate goal is to work with adoptions and families or military families.

I also spent the better part of last year as a nanny for two families.

The first family I spent time with had 2 children (girl, 6 and boy, 2). My responsibilities mostly concerned the youngest child; however, in the morning, I had to get the 6-year-old ready for school and bring both children to the bus stop. In regards to the youngest child, I was responsible for organizing the morning activities, which included driving to and from activities. I would look into different events in the area, (play groups, or local parks/play areas, etc.) and confirm each event with the parents prior to going to the activity. Then, in the afternoon, we would stay at home and follow the normal routine (lunch, nap, activities), while waiting for the oldest daughter to arrive off the bus. After that, homework help and snack/small meal preparation was involved.
Details
Has transportation
provider provider
Willing to travel
30 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Join free to see more about Katherine.

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in