Tutoring & Lessons Provider from Brooklyn, NY 11201 - Care.com
full-time

Julia R.

(2)
Cared for 2 families
$16 – 35/hr Brooklyn, NY
4 yrs exp 22 yrs old
Join to contact

Meet Julia

I'm a recent Oberlin College graduate with 4+ years of experience teaching and tutoring in Oberlin and NYC. I've worked with a 14-year age range across all disciplines and language backgrounds, including ESL students. I've tutored online for the past year and feel very comfortable. I am open to tutoring sessions, babysitting, video school support, and test prep (MUST BE ONLINE until this summer).

I have experience teaching phonics and writing with elementary school students, reinforcing an IB program curriculum that encourages inquiry and values knowledgeable world citizens. At the middle school level, I have focused on growth-mindset learning through the solo-teaching of seventh-grade literature. With high school students, I have honed mentorship skills and focused on college and career readiness. At Oberlin, I have also studied writing-tutoring pedagogy across disciplines and served as a peer writing tutor.

Can provide resume, transcript, and references upon request.
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 15 mi
Math
English
Science
Test Prep
Special Education

Most recent review

FB
Francesca B. Hired Julia
Feb 11, 2021
Julia has extensive experience tutoring both in person and online with elementary school age children. Julia is a fantastic tutor, meeting the needs of the student, engaging each one with activities tailored to their academic needs. Would highly recommend!
Showing results 1 of 2
Education
Oberlin College
2020

College degree

Verified info

Phone Verified
Email Verified