Joanna L.

Full-time, 32 year old nanny from Paynesville, MN with 6 years of experience and a background check on file
Paynesville, MN | 32 yrs old
6 years experience
full-time $10-20/hr
Paynesville, MN | 32 yrs old | 6 years experience | full-time $10-20/hr
Meet Joanna
I have spent pretty much my whole life working with kids! I come from a large family. I have 19 brothers and sisters, 9 of them married and another soon to be married. I have 12 nieces and nephews and another on the way. I am #7, so I am of the older ones taking care of the younger ones. I was home schooled so I was able to start a daycare just watching three kids full-time and two part-time. I did that until I went to college, which was about 2 1/2 years ago. At college I started off as a janitor, but after 1 year was able to get into the college preschool there helping in all 3 rooms, 0-2, 2-4 (or whenever they were potty-trained), and the preschool room. At noon the main teacher would go home and I was watching six kids ranging from 6 weeks to 7 years, two of them being a set of twins. I was in that position for one year, including two summers. I guess it was more like 14 or 15 months then. I went to Cambodia for my schooling and worked with kids there, the International Youth Group, a couple different orphanages (one of them being an AIDS orphanage), a street kids' ministry, and quite a few other things not involving kids, such as the radio station, helping with the translation of a book (I just proof-read and worked the English part!), learning the language, adapting to the culture, helping with a woman's ministry helping prostitutes find jobs and learn how to help themselves, and quite a few other things! I was there a total of 9 months, my junior year of school.

When I went back to school that summer I took the job part-time again at the preschool, and part-time on lawn and gardens. At the end of the summer they closed the preschool and I went to supervisor of lawn and gardens. After graduating college, I did a few odd jobs, such as Subway and as a dietary aide at a nursing home. I moved to MO and I was able to get a job as a nanny for four kids ages 3-12 years. The family moved to AZ and I stayed in MO. I moved back to MN in May 2008 where I got a job working for a homeschooling family of six kids, ages 8 months-10 years. The mother ended up on bed rest for a total of 24 weeks during that time that I was there due to a surgery, so I ended up working there full-time staying the nights on the weekdays (the husband was there on the weekends). During this time I also taught a girl's Bible study and counseled for 7-8th grade. During all this time, even when I was not "working" with kids, I spent time babysitting, helping with VBS and nursery at my church, and any number of doing things with kids. Why am I passionate about what I am doing? Well, I believe that God has given me a passion for kids. I love anything to do with kids and they are so much fun. Kids pick up things more then we think that they do, so I want a child to know that they are loved and cared for even when their parents are not around. I am a lot of fun I think and I love to laugh and play, and I love to make kids laugh and have fun!
Details
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
Willing to travel
30 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Join free to see more about Joanna.

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in