Hannah O.

Full-time, 26 year old special needs caregiver from New York, NY with 4 years of experience and a background check available upon request
New York, NY | 26 yrs old
4 years experience
full-time $20-20/hr
New York, NY | 26 yrs old | 4 years experience | full-time $20-20/hr
Meet Hannah
I love working working as a caregiver with the elderly and with children. I am the oldest of three and grew up caring for my younger brother and sister, as well as babysitting on a regular basis. During high school I realized that I wanted to work with children and pursue that through a bachelor's degree in Disability Studies. I have also dedicated the last six years of my life to work and volunteer positions where I can support, teach and encourage children as they learn and discover the world around them. I have a bachelor's degree in Disability Studies. I majored in Disability Studies because I am interested in continuing to work with children with special needs. I recently worked as an intern at a organization where I organized educational activities for people with disabilities and their families. I also helped with activities such as special needs choir practice and challenger sports. I have worked as a childcare assistant at a orphanage in Vina del Mar, Chile, where I worked with typically developing children and children with developmental delays. As a live-in staff member in Bonoua, Ivory Coast, I lived in a community with children and young adults with special needs (ages 5-20), helping them develop life skills. I also assisted them with daily hygiene, art therapy and music therapy activities, physical education and meal preparation and clean-up. As a group counselor at a camp, I planned activities for adults with special needs, including personal hygiene, recreation, art, cooking and cleaning. While working in Mexico City I volunteered at a school for children with special needs. I love working with people with special needs because they teach me about what is important in life and I learn how to look at life through a different point of view. When I work with people with disabilities I feel as though I need them as much as they need me. I find true meaning in this work and love all that I learn from the people I work with. I also love using creative ways to help them learn and develop important life skills.
Details
Willing to travel
100 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.