Grace L.

Part-time, 21 year old tutor from Brooklyn, NY with 3 years of experience and a background check on file
Brooklyn, NY | 21 yrs old
3 years experience
part-time $20-25/hr

(1 review)
Brooklyn, NY | 21 yrs old | 3 years experience | part-time $20-25/hr
(1 review)
Meet Grace
Hello there! I am a 19-year-old student in Brooklyn and pursuing childhood education. I love reading, running, and yoga. I am currently a tutor and sitter to 4 kids between 6 and 11 years. I also have experience working with multiples, infants, and kids who are mentally challenged as well as kids in ESL, with ADHD, and apraxia. References are available upon request! :) I have worked with a couple kids who were more challenging than others and I have the confidence, persistence, and patience to work with any child even on their crankiest days.
The ideal family for me to work with is a family that is personable and a family that is not "strictly business" as I would like to form positive relationships with you and have open lines of communication! When tutoring, I work best with kids between 4 and 9 years old. My approach to tutoring is making it a fun environment where we not only talk about the subjects and read the stories, but make connection to how they relate to our daily lives. I love to play music while we work, I love having snacks while we work. In a nutshell, I want my work setting to be productive, but fun and comfortable because the best way for kids to make progress is when they want to and when they enjoy doing it.
I am conversational in Cantonese and Hakka, a pet lover, and athletic and energetic enough to keep up with your little one. I am a very avid reader and I love bringing the joy of reading to all the kids I work with. Therefore, besides being friendly, honest, and patient with your child, I can promise you that she/he will be with a lovely storyteller. That being said, the subject I am most comfortable with is anything reading/writing/literacy related.
I believe that children of all ages should always be challenged and prepared for things ahead of their time. I also encourage healthy, hygienic habits, manners, picking your nose only in private, talking things out instead of fighting, pointing as you read, and chewing with your mouth closed. I can be comforting and fun enough to play a big sister role and responsible enough to make sure our priorities are taken care of.
I do not drive, but I have pretty much mastered the MTA. Summer hours are up in the air! Thank you for reading!
Details
Willing to travel
30 miles
English - English
provider provider
English - Grammar
provider provider
English - Language Arts K-6
provider provider
English - Literature
provider provider
English - Phonics
provider provider
English - Public Speaking
provider provider
English - Reading
provider provider
English - Writing
provider provider
Math - Elementary School Math
provider provider

Join free today

Join free to see more about Grace.

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in