BABYSITTER - Dorothea C. from Rochester, NY 14609 - Care.com
part-time babysitter

Dorothea C.

(1)
Cared for 2 families
$10 – 15/hr Rochester, NY
10+ yrs exp 57 yrs old
PREMIUM
Join to contact

Meet Dorothea

I have been babysitting since I was 13 years old. I volunteered in my church's nursery. I helped raise my niece and nephew who are 25 and 21. I have taken care of children from infants to early teens. I was also the primary caregiver of my parents as they needed help with activities of daily living, medication monitoring, laundry, bathing, cooking, and transporting to adult social daycare the whole nine yards, until they passed in 2010 and 2012. I work at Department of Social Services by day in Medical Assistance. I am going to retire in a few short years and am looking into what might me the next chapter for me. As nurturing seems to be in my DNA, my Episcopal priest father and elementary school teacher mother raised 2 social workers and a nurse (go figure), so I am thinking that hands-on care giving for children or the elders of our community would be a natural transition and so much different than I have done professionally for 28 years.
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 15 mi

Most recent review

's Photo
Candace H.
Jun 17, 2018
I work with Dorrie at a church nursery on Sunday mornings. We both passed background checks to work here. She is great with the children. I've seen her calm down a distraught toddler by hugging her and speaking in a soothing manner. She is very dependable and cares a lot for the children.
Showing results 1 of 1
Education
SUNY College - Oswego

Bachelor's

Verified info

Phone Verified
Email Verified
Facebok Verified