Debra M.

Part-time babysitter from Lowell, MA with 10 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Lowell, MA |
10+ years experience
part-time $15-20/hr
Lowell, MA | 10+ years experience | part-time $15-20/hr
Meet Debra
I babysat from 7th grade through college. In college, I cared for my cousins, one in elementary school, the other in high school. I also babysat for my nephew in recent years. I have worked with infants through adolescents. I have also been an overnight camp nurse for three summers. Children find me easy to talk to, fair, creative, but know that I will set caring limits to prevent unsafe behaviors. At the school where I worked, I had a morning clan of students who visited faithfully, showing me their assignments, recounting their nights, and having a final review of spelling words. In the afternoon the same concept occurred. Some students came to get a break from the chaos of the day, older students came to share concerns after they learned I was trustworthy, and some students came for homework assistance. I have a great deal of experience caring for children of all ages with a multitude of different interests and abilities.

My guiding philosophy is to engage children in activities that they enjoy, but that also encourage their emotional or academic growth. All children need some down time after a day in school, but I'm not one who loves the television. I enjoy being outside, crafts, board games, puzzles, and age appropriate activities. I have experience with a variety of children and view each as unique with their own strengths. I became a camp counselor my junior year of high school, but began volunteering with first graders in 9th grade. I am kind, outgoing, loving patient, a role model, easy to talk to, aware if something is bothering someone, able to set routines but keep flexibility, and I prioritize safety. I do not get into power struggles with the children. If necessary I will set firm, kind, consistent limits. I am a hard worker. I will follow the expectations of my employers. I am dedicated, and truly love children. I will assist with homework, light housekeeping, errands, and meal prep. You are probably curious why an RN is willing to be a childcare provider. I have been between jobs, and want a position that allows me to utilize my strengths, taking care of others, rather than jumping into a job that will not be satisfying. At this time I do not even know what type of position I want. I may be very content remaining in childcare. I grew up in Brookline and have strong morals and values. I have always been seen as a valued member where I have worked. If you hire me, you will not be disappointed.
Reliable Transportation
Hire again
Simmons College
Bachelor's in Nursing
Phone verified
provider provider
Email verified
provider provider
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
First Aid Training
provider provider
Willing to travel
30 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in