Cheryl Z.

Part-time, 59 year old tutor from New York, NY with 0 years of experience and a background check available upon request
New York, NY | 59 yrs old
0 years experience
part-time $20-20/hr

(1 review)
New York, NY | 59 yrs old | 0 years experience | part-time $20-20/hr
(1 review)
Meet Cheryl
I worked for a full school year in a charter school tutoring first grade students to improve their reading comprehension, vocabulary, spelling and grammar. I also helped them to sharpen their math skills, including addition, subtraction and fractions, and with such applied mathematical concepts as symbols, telling time, and making change.
I go about my work gently, with lots of patience and a sense of humor, and believe these are the reasons I am able to see improvements in my students. I encourage repetition to make certain students understand what they are reading, spelling, phrasing or calculating. I like to ask questions about the material to make sure that the student has truly grasped the subject. I encourage students to work out solutions for themselves as much as possible and relish seeing work completed independently. I am passionate about stories, and the words and phrases that build them, as well as math problems and creative ways to explain solutions.
Details
Willing to travel
30 miles
English - English
provider provider
English - Grammar
provider provider
English - Reading
provider provider
English - Writing
provider provider
Math - Elementary School Math
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.