Catherine H.

Part-time, 29 year old child care provider from Shawnee, KS with 3 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Shawnee, KS | 29 yrs old
3 years experience
part-time $15-25/hr
Shawnee, KS | 29 yrs old | 3 years experience | part-time $15-25/hr
Meet Catherine
My experiences have come from several different opportunities includes: an internship I gave hand washing demonstrations to elementary school children as well as tobacco prevention talks to junior high students; I worked as a childcare assistant for the YMCA; I participated in an internship at an occupational therapists office working with children who held intellectual and physical developmental delays; I was employed at a development center. I currently work another development center working with children ages 0-5 years of age. Most of my experience has been with 0-3 years, and this is the age group that interests me most.
Although these opportunities differ in certain ways they all have similar aspects that have structured my experience. Fostering development on an intellectual (especially language), emotional, physical, and social level is the framework of my experience. Examples of procedures (what I do/would do) are age and situation specific (for instance when the peer-related issue of sharing comes up, I would not handle the situation the same with a 1-year-old as I would a two or 3-year-old) thus it would be better to go in-depth during an interview. However, the underlying principle in all circumstances is the same: inappropriate behavior extinction while teaching and maintaining appropriate behavior (positive reinforcement for appropriate behavior vs. punishment for unwanted behavior). The best way to teach children is to tell them what you want them to do as opposed to telling them what you don't want them to do.
I have knowledge and experience creating age appropriate snack/meal planning for healthy development, creating age appropriate activities for after school programs and day camps, communicating with parents, maintaining records and files, and completing daily reports.
Despite all the technical stuff: it's all about interacting with the children and having fun!
Details
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
Willing to travel
25 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.