Cara P.

Part-time, 39 year old babysitter from Seattle, WA with 10 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Seattle, WA | 39 yrs old
10+ years experience
part-time $15-25/hr

(2 reviews)
Seattle, WA | 39 yrs old | 10+ years experience | part-time $15-25/hr
(2 reviews)
Meet Cara
I am currently employed and not available, except for possibly a regularly scheduled off peak date night or regular Saturday daytime gig, within a mile of my house.

Let me start with the basics: I am a career nanny who chose to go into childcare nearly 20 years ago, because I absolutely love it. I have extensive experience with children ages 6 weeks-15 years old. I have been the long term, full time nanny for two(different families) oral-deaf children who received cochlear implants and I took a central role, along side parents and educators, in teaching listening and spoken language skills to these children. I've also worked with other oral-deaf children part time, as a short term nanny for a toddler with moderate hearing loss and as a care provider for an autistic and profoundly deaf child/teen for the past 8 years. More on my special needs experience is available in my "special needs profile", which I believe anyone can access. I have a hard time quantifying my skills and qualifications because I have a fluid style and adjust to work easily with a variety of parenting styles and children of different natural temperaments. The cornerstone of my "nanny style" is forming a close personal bond with each individual child, and finding what works for that specific child, in partnership with the parents. It's hard to put down on paper, or demonstrate in an interview, how this translates to a wonderful nanny/child/family dynamic, so I encourage interested families to contact my references. I love many, many aspects of being with young children as they develop and grow, but my favorite part of childcare is story telling. I love fostering imagination and using stories in play and education. In infancy, the "stories" are just a narration of daily events. As the child starts to attend to books, songs, and finger play, I take those simple stories and weave them into the natural fabric of the day. Over time the conversation grows and opportunities for language and brain development are limitless. Once the child is able to understand abstract stories, I make up stories with my "talking" dogs and use those stories as entertainment, but also to teach "theory of mind" and work through discipline issues in a non-confrontational and supportive way. One of my young clients once said to me, "My other nanny is good at crafts, but you are good at finding the fun in anything!"
Most Recent Review
Cara has been an incredible nanny for our son, who will be 2 in July. She has worked for us throughout the 2013-2014 school year and will only be leaving us because I will be taking time off of work to care for our new baby. Cara is incredibly kind and nurturing. She always engages my son in stimulating activities. They rarely, or ever sit at home. She is constantly taking him to explore new places, exposing him to new environments and generally having fun with him. We are sorry to be losing her as our nanny and cannot recommend her highly enough! Posted May 14, 2014
(Showing 1 of 2 reviews, join to see all)
Reliable Transportation
Hire again
University of Washington
Some college
English, Sign Language (SEE Sign)
Email verified
provider provider
Accepts credit cards
provider provider
Has transportation
provider provider
CPR Certified
provider provider
First Aid Training
provider provider
Willing to travel
1 miles
Comfortable with pets
provider provider

Join free today

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in