Brandi M.

Full-time, 38 year old tutor from Addison, IL with 10 years of experience and a background check available upon request
Addison, IL | 38 yrs old
10+ years experience
full-time $45-50/hr

(1 review)
Addison, IL | 38 yrs old | 10+ years experience | full-time $45-50/hr
(1 review)
Meet Brandi
I have been a special education teacher for 10 years in various age groups, settings and subjects. I also have my Master's Degree in Reading Instruction. I have experience and an interest in assessing each area of reading and writing to find the learning gaps/problem areas and giving the student time to practice to mastery. I can instruct all levels of reading, basic phonics up through advanced comprehension, to allow your student to advance at their own pace. With my focus on individualized learning, your student will become independent, self-reliant, and motivated to learn on their own. I want to see them become a life long learner who gains meaning from all text that they read and find a joy in reading independently. I could also work with your student's teacher to have wrap-around support with areas of struggle or when they need just a little more practice on some component of reading or writing. I also see the value in giving parents and guardians support and guidance when working with their student if requested. Learning new skills and practicing the more difficult ones will be incorporated into having fun with books, hands on games and writing. I have a vast amount of materials and I am willing to lend books/resources out when requested. Gaps in reading can be filled.
Most Recent Review
Brandi is currently tutoring my 9 year old daughter 2x/week. Brandi is warm and engaging. She is patient, motivational, and full of alternative teaching methods. She stays current with what is happening in my daughter's classroom via the school website. I'm a working parent and Brandi keeps me posted as to my daughter's strengths and weaknesses via email and or a notebook. She is also very responsive when I need to speak with her via phone. Brandi is extremely thoughtful and dedicated. I highly recommend Brandi if you're in need of a tutor. Posted Sep 24, 2010
Reliable Transportation
Hire again
Concordia University - River Forest
Graduate Degree in Reading
Illinois State University
Bachelor's in Special Education
Phone verified
provider provider
Email verified
provider provider
Has transportation
provider provider
Willing to travel
10 miles
Computers - Microsoft Office
provider provider
Computers - Microsoft Powerpoint
provider provider
Computers - Microsoft Windows
provider provider
Computers - Microsoft Word
provider provider
English - Grammar
provider provider
English - Language Arts K-6
provider provider
English - Phonics
provider provider
English - Reading
provider provider
English - Writing
provider provider

Join free today

Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
Already a member? Sign in
Already a member? Sign in