NANNY - Amanda O. from Pittsburgh, PA 15229 -
full-time nanny

Amanda O.

$15 – 20/hr Pittsburgh, PA
10+ yrs exp 33 yrs old
Join to contact

Meet Amanda

For the last 10 years I have been working with or caring for children. I have spent the last five summers as a full time nanny caring for three children and the home doing a variety of things such as doing laundry and cleaning, preparing snacks and meals, and running errands. I enjoy working with and taking care of children and hopefully you will see my commitment to children as I explain why I am passionate about working with young children.

My first job at 15 years old was as a lifeguard/swim instructor. I taught children from ages 2-15 years old swimming lessons for 4 summers and sincerely enjoyed teaching life saving skills, stroke development and stroke proficiency. I then obtained my Bachelor's degree from Indiana University of Pennsylvania in Family and Consumer Sciences Education (k-12 certification). During my first twos years in Indiana, I continued to work as a Lifeguard/Swim Instructor working with children 8 to 12 years old at the Indiana YMCA. I was responsible for birthday parties and loved planning, decorating, and working at the Y and with children. After two years at the YMCA, I then begun to work at Grand Beginnings Child Care Facility as an after school teacher/child care provider. At Grand Beginnings, I was responsible for the school age children. I organized our daily snacks, games, activities, and arts and crafts. I also cleaned and sanitized the classroom, the games and toys daily to ensure the safety and well being of all children there. My next experience working with and caring for children was as a student teacher at a fantastic local school district just north of Pittsburgh. I taught 7th and 8th grade Family and Consumer Sciences (Home Ec) during the fall of 2008 and immediately knew my career path in education and working with children was the best thing I have ever done for myself. For the last two and a half years I have continued to work in local area school districts as a Family and Consumer Sciences teacher. With the difficulties that educators are facing across the state, I have found myself in a position where I will be furloughed at the end of this school year. I have always worked with children and hope to continue to work with children. Starting to do the research of what I would like to do, I immediately thought that the possibility of being a full time nanny provider could really be a wonderful opportunity for me and the future children I may have the pleasure to work with. There is nothing more exciting then seeing a child grow. I sincerely hope to be a full time nanny within the Pittsburgh or surrounding area.
Comfortable with pets
Non smoker
Has transportation
Willing to travel 15 mi
CPR/First Aid Trained
Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Bachelor's in Family and Consumer Sciences Education

Other qualifications, Certifications, and Credentials

Having a certification in education, I have my child abuse clearance, my criminal background checked and fingerprints scanned.

Verified info

Email Verified