San Mateo Japanese-Speaking Child Care

4 options in San Mateo, CA

Average rate: $18.50/hr

Post a job today for free!

Filter by:

Available Now!

Previously Posted:

Camille G.'s Photo

Camille G.|San Mateo, CA

$15-20/hr 8 yrs exp 28 yrs old

Experienced Babysitter, Part-time Nanny, And Travel Nanny Looking For Part-time Gigs.

Hi All! Welcome to my page! My name's Camille and I'm so glad you decided to drop by. I've been babysitting for about 8 years now, and am thrilled to be getting back into the scene via Care. com. I've just moved back to the Bay Area from Washington State where I began officially babysitting at the age of 13 for a close family friend, then grew my clientele from there. When I moved from that small town to Seattle, I was a part-time nanny for two doctors in the Bellevue area. I'd pick up the two children from school, fix them a snack, help them with their homework, and drive them to Kumon once every week. If we had spare time, we'd go on walks throughout the neighborhood, play in the snow (if the weather permitted), play house-friendly games like hide-and-seek, and occasionally watch a movie in their downstairs theater: The main word being occasionally. My most unique babysitting gig was in November of 2014. My aunt who worked in Bellevue had called me one day asking if I'd like to work for her boss and his wife as a travel nanny. They were going to Tokyo for a week on business and wanted to bring their children (a 3-year-old boy and a 6-year-old girl). The catch? They were leaving in less than 48 hours. I had never met the family, besides a brief meet-and-greet the night before the flight, and I had never been to Japan (although I have done traveling abroad). I had also never worked as a travel nanny before, so the family and I were both jumping into this a little blindly. The trip, however, ended up being one of the greatest experiences of my life. The children were so great and so much fun! I really wanted to take them out and about and explore the neighborhood we were in, and they were all for it! We'd have breakfast in the morning at the hotel, then explored Shibuya hand-in-hand. We stumbled across a park, ate lunch in authentic Japanese restaurants, and spent an impressive amount of time window shopping at the Disney Store. (By the end of the trip they each got to pick one toy.) It was so great experiencing a foreign city with children who were as excited and curious as I was to learn about their temporary home. When we weren't out exploring Shibuya, we explored the giant hotel from top to bottom. The kids' favorite thing to do in the hotel was riding the escalators. I can't tell you how many times we rode up and down those long moving staircases. Simple bliss. We did, of course, have nap time as well as an allotted time for homework. We all had a great time in Tokyo: The parents were so happy that they were able to get work done during the day, then come back to their kids at night rather than having to wait a week to see them. They were so appreciative and always made sure we had everything we needed to make the most out of this trip. It was a week to be remembered, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. A little bit about me before I wrap it up: I'm 24 years old and just recently graduated from the University of Washington with an English degree. I love traveling, acting, singing, dancing, arts and crafts, reading, writing, playing guitar, and being outside. I'm not much of a TV person, and would rather take children on a walk or to a museum than sit and watch TV. I'm originally from the Bay Area and lived here until I was 12. I have a very large extended family (22 first cousins and counting) and two siblings who are eight and nine years younger than myself. My family was also a foster family for a few years up in WA. We fostered a few children including two pairs of sisters (at different times), who stayed with us the longest. My foster siblings filled the age gap between my sisters and I; it was so much fun having a big family and sisters closer to my age. Needless to say, I grew up surrounded by children, which is why I think babysitting comes so easily and is something I enjoy doing. As of now, I occasionally babysit my younger cousins in SF (3mo, 4 yrs, 7yrs), but I am looking to help families offering part-time work between San Francisco and San Mateo, although I may be persuaded to travel to Oakland. As of now, I'm working as a server and am unavailable Wednesday and Thursday before 4, Saturday nights (after 4), and a few random days here and there because of a catering gig. Otherwise, I'm looking to fill in the empty spaces! Whew! Thank you for reading my novel of a summary. I hope to meet you soon!
Showing 1 - 4 of 4