Nevada Tax and Labor Law Summary
Household employment requirements for families hiring a caregiver in Nevada
It's not easy to find all the household employment rules that cover hiring a caregiver in Nevada. But that's exactly what this overview has and what you can expect our service to do for your family if you become a HomePay client.
When a family hires someone to perform duties in or around their home, they are considered a household employer. The IRS views the worker whether a nanny, health aide, housekeeper, senior caregiver, gardener, chef, personal assistant, estate manager, etc. as an employee of the family in nearly every case. Misclassifying an employee as an independent contractor (using Form 1099) is considered tax evasion, so please call us if you're not sure how to classify your worker.
NEVADA HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYMENT TAX RESPONSIBILITIES
Household employers have four primary tax responsibilities. These are sometimes referred to as the Nevada nanny tax obligations:
1. Withhold Social Security and Medicare taxes from their employee's paycheck each pay period. Federal income taxes should be withheld based on the employee's selections on Form W-4.
* It is not legally required that income taxes be withheld. However, we strongly advise it so that the employee does not have a large tax burden at the end of the year and is not subjected to underpayment penalties.
2. Pay the employer's portion of Social Security and Medicare, as well as federal and Nevada unemployment insurance taxes (FUTA and SUTA) and a small Career Enhancement Program tax.
Good news! There are some tax breaks for dependent care that can help offset these employer taxes. For an estimate of your employer costs, your tax breaks and your employee's take-home pay, give us a call.
3. File tax forms with the Nevada Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation, typically on a quarterly basis, and with the IRS in April, June, September and January. With these filings, employers remit (pay) the employee taxes withheld and the employer taxes accrued.
4. At the end of the year, prepare Form W-2 and distribute to each employee, file Form W-2 Copy A and Form W-3 with the Social Security Administration and file a Schedule H with your personal income tax return.
NEVADA LABOR LAW REQUIREMENTS
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) provides the framework for federal and state wage and hour law. Household employees are classified under the FLSA as non-exempt workers. Non-exempt workers in all 50 states are covered by the rules and protections of the FLSA. The Nevada Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation or a municipality may supplement federal law with additional requirements.
Minimum wage in Nevada is currently $9.00 per hour.
Nevada Overtime Requirements
Overtime requirements are not determined by the amount of hours or by the type of pay (hourly or salary); they are determined by the type of work performed. The FLSA requires domestic workers be protected by overtime laws. The requirements for Nevada household employers are as follows:
- The standard workweek is defined as 40 hours in a 7-day period.
- Nevada employees should be paid at least 1.5 times the regular hourly rate (time-and-a-half) for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. If the employee is paid less than $12.38 per hour and is not a live-in employee, overtime is required for all hours worked over 8 in a day.
- Overtime compensation is required for live-in employees unless otherwise agreed to in writing by both employer and employee.
- Employees are required to have a day of rest (24 consecutive hours) each week and 48 consecutive hours of rest each month. If an employee chooses to work on their day of rest, all hours worked must be paid at the overtime rate.
- Overtime is not required to be paid when work is performed on a holiday.
Employment Contract Requirement
Household employers in Nevada are required to provide their employee with a written employment contract at the time of hire. The contract must include:
- Employer's name & address.
- Employee's name & start date.
- A list of duties the employee is expected to perform.
- Weekly schedule of days & hours worked, along with any breaks given during the day.
- Hourly rate of pay, overtime rate of pay and any benefits offered to the employee (health insurance, paid time off, etc.).
- Pay frequency (weekly/bi-weekly) and method of pay.
- Any deductions from the employee's wages.
- Period of notice for either employer or employee to terminate the working relationship.
- If the employee is a live-in, the conditions for when the employer can enter the employee's room/living space.
Live-In Termination Requirement
If a household employer lets their live-in employee go without cause, they must either provide 30 days written notice for the employee to leave their home or provide comparable housing to them elsewhere.
Employment Poster Requirement
Families in Nevada are required to notify their employee of their rights by sharing these posters in a location that is readily accessible to their employee.
The current federal mileage reimbursement rate is 57.5 cents per mile. This rate, which covers the cost of gasoline as well as general wear and tear on the car, should be used to calculate reimbursement payments to an employee who drives their own vehicle while on the job. Mileage reimbursement is not considered taxable compensation, so neither the employee nor the employer is required to pay any taxes on that portion of the compensation.
Note: Miles driven while commuting to and from the jobsite are not considered on-the-job. If the employer reimburses the employee for commuter mileage, it is considered taxable compensation.
INSURANCE FOR NEVADA HOUSEHOLD EMPLOYERS
Workers' Compensation Insurance
Household employers in Nevada are not required to carry a workers' compensation insurance policy. However, we recommend obtaining coverage because it assists with medical expenses and lost wages if an employee has a work-related injury or illness. It also provides protection to the employer since workers who accept benefits generally forfeit their right to sue the employer regardless of fault. You can get an instant quote and purchase a policy online or by contacting our workers’ compensation advisor, Clarke White, at 804-267-1210 or email@example.com.
Nevada unemployment insurance is a state-managed program that provides financial assistance to help laid-off workers make ends meet until they can find another job. This insurance is funded through taxes that employers are required to pay on wages paid to employees. These taxes flow into a general fund and unemployment benefits are distributed from the fund to employees who are let go from their job due to no fault of their own. The Nevada Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation (DETR) determines whether or not an applicant qualifies for benefits after reviewing their online or paper application and/or by conducting a telephone interview. Benefits paid to a former employee by the DETR may trigger a future tax rate increase for the employer.
Household employers in Nevada are NOT required to pay for their employee's health insurance. However, there is a tax incentive to do so. Families with only 1 employee can make contributions toward their employee's health insurance premiums and treat the amount as non-taxable compensation. In this scenario, neither the employee nor the employer are required to pay any taxes on that portion of the compensation.
Note: Employers with 2 or more employees must set up an Individual Coverage Health Reimbursement Arrangement (ICHRA), a Qualified Small Employer Health Reimbursement Arrangement (QSEHRA) or purchase a policy through SHOP (Small Business Health Options Program) to gain this benefit. Visit our health insurance page for more information about these options.
The information herein is general in nature and may not be applicable to or suitable for your specific circumstances. Accordingly, the information is not intended to be providing legal or tax advice, and should not be relied upon without the advice and guidance of a professional tax or legal advisor.
Get started with HomePay!
Already enrolled with HomePay? Log in
First things first—have you hired a caregiver?
If you're seeking a caregiver or a care job, visit Care.com
What type of caregiver have you hired?
Have you already made any payments to your caregiver?
If you've made payments, we'll help you track them and we'll provide your employee with pay stubs.