Cooking Jobs in Brandon

Find 2 opportunities near Brandon, FL.

A new job is posted every minute on - don't miss out!

Filter by:

Local Cooking Jobs

Previous Jobs
See some jobs that were posted or filled recently.

Companion Care Needed For My Mother In Valrico

Part Time
About who needs care: My mom is demonstrating some cognitive impairment (trouble with memory, occasional paranoia). Her condition fluctuates. She is able to take care of herself, cook, maintain her home and even still drives herself to the store. She sometimes confuses dreams with reality, thinks that the people on TV are talking to her or about her, etc. She is sometimes unable to understand the content of mail she receives. I help her with keeping track of her bills, bank and credit card accounts, and various statements. She is undergoing initial diagnostic tests ordered by a neurologist. He indicated it is likely she's exhibiting the early stages of Alzheimer's but ordered the tests to confirm there isn't another cause. She has no hobbies. My two sisters and I each live about an hour away from her house and are only able to visit her once or twice per month. Her neighbors help keep an eye on her. My sisters and I have suggested that she move in with my older sister Ruth or into a community living situation but so far she is adamant that she will not move out of the house she's lived in for over 50 years. In addition to someone checking in on her and just providing her with company a few times a week, we'd also like to work on helping her declutter her home. Her house is well-kept but the closets and various cabinets in her 3-bedroom house are all completely filled, mostly with junk that needs to be discarded or given to Goodwill. About the care needs: As I mentioned on the previous page, my mother has always been a very social person. We think she is very lonely and it's difficult for my sisters and I to spend much time with her. Her neighbors check in on her but she needs more companionship. Ideally, we'd like her to consider moving in with my older sister or into a senior community. Until then, we'd like a caregiver who can visit with her, providing company, and someone with basic medical expertise who would be able to identify any significant symptoms and let us know so that we could get her assistance as needed. If possible, we'd also like the caregiver to help my mother begin cleaning out some of the clutter in her closets and kitchen. Services needed include: meal preparation, errands / shopping, light housekeeping, and companionship.