Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC

Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
719-648-0356 719-648-0356

Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC

Colorado Springs, CO 80923
Colorado Springs, CO 80923
719-648-0356 719-648-0356
At Care.com, we realize that cost of care is a big consideration for families. That's why we are offering an estimate which is based on an average of known rates charged by similar businesses in the area. For actual rates, contact the business directly.

Details and information displayed here were provided by this business and may not reflect its current status. We strongly encourage you to perform your own research when selecting a care provider.

Details and information displayed here were provided by this business and may not reflect its current status. We strongly encourage you to perform your own research when selecting a care provider.

In business since: 2006
Total Employees: 2-10
Awards & Accreditations
EQUIT Certified (Expanded Quality Infant/toddler training) a 48 hr. course that I completed that enabled me to obtain a 3 under 2 license.

LICENSING INFORMATION

State license status: Permanent (Care.com verified on 7/13/2021)
This business has satisfied Colorado's requirements to be licensed. For the most up-to-date status and inspection reports, please view this provider's profile on Colorado's licensing website.
Licensing requirements typically include:
  • Complying with safety and health inspections
  • Achieving the required levels of educational training
  • Maintaining a minimum caregiver-to-child ratio
  • Other state-defined requirements

Hours

Monday :
7:00AM - 5:30PM
Tuesday :
7:00AM - 5:30PM
Wednesday :
7:00AM - 5:30PM
Thursday :
7:00AM - 5:30PM
Friday :
7:00AM - 5:30PM
Saturday :
Closed
Sunday :
Closed
Program Capacity:
6

Cost & Availability

Class Type Rate Rate Type Availability *
2yr.old $ 205 per week 1
*availability last updated on 09/04/2019
OFFERINGS
Full Time (5 days/wk)

Ratings & Reviews

( 8)
Alan
03/15/2019
My Wife and I decided to use Buttons and Bows daycare during the middle of 2017. We had just moved to Colorado Springs and were looking for someone caring. We thought we found that in Buttons and Bows. Initially everything was great, I work as a Firefighter in the Denver Metro area and she seemed to be very willing to accommodate our crazy schedule associated with being a First Responder family. She allowed us to do a drop in rate without having to pay a full time rate which was great and we appreciated it. A few months in to using her my Wife dropped him off in the morning like normal and she told my Wife that she would no longer be able to watch him and her last day watching him would be in approx. 2 weeks. A couple days later I went to pick my son up and she stated that today would be the last day and she won't be watching him anymore. I had to work the next day and that left us less than 24 hours to find someone to watch our son. She said that he was "not a good fit" and he "cried all the time" and that he was "stressing the other kids out". The daycare that watched him before had nothing but good things to say about our son and was very surprised when we shared the information about the situation with buttons and bows. Since leaving this place, Our son has been watched by the same Lady and again, had nothing but good things to say about our son and his overall demeanor towards others. I would not recommend this company to anyone, even my worst enemy. I don not believe what Shanan did was ethical, responsible or professional.
Reply from Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC
Let me begin first by saying that not every child is a "good fit" in my childcare program. Apparently, this particular family is having difficulty in life and that saddens me. I wish everyone well. If a child does not adjust well in my program it is best that the family find another route to take. I want what is best for the child. That is my duty, their happiness means everything to me! I am a very patient woman and will go to great lengths to help a child adjust in my daycare. In this case, this child did not adjust and attended only part time and it just didn't work out!This child is the reason I no longer accept part time children. Furthermore, it is written in may registration paperwork that( they both signed) I am not responsible for back up care, so it is not my fault that they had problems with childcare once I terminated care. This family knew the difficulty I was having , it was certainly not a "shock" to them when I had to terminate care. They stated they were having problems at home with him as well. But" wow, "this was in 2017 and it is now 2019 ---amazing
06/03/2019
Kelli B
06/06/2018
It is such a blessing to have Shanan in our lives! My son has been with her since he was three months old. Now, at 19 months, he loves going to Miss Shanan's house. She serves healthy food and provides activities that cater to his interests. It is truly a gift to have found someone that we feel comfortable with watching our child. We could not ask for a better fit!
Robert
05/24/2018
I was just about to write a review for "Buttons & Bows Daycare" when I happened to glance at a rather disturbing review. It just so happened that I was dropping off my child when this Samantha was doing the same with her child. I witnessed this child throwing herself on the floor crying and causing a "scene" and the mother (Samantha) did nothing to help Shanan out with the situation. Shanan began asking the mother questions as to why she was acting like this. The mother just said " I don't know" and shrugged her shoulders. I cannot believe what this woman is saying about Shanan. Its total rubbish in my book. Shanan absolutely acted appropriately and did what had to be done for everyone involved-including my kid. Shanan demonstrates kindness, patience and understanding each and everyday. She always greets us with a smile and words of kindness. My kid has excelled in her care and has learned so many things. We could not have found a better daycare provider. Her professionalism is outstanding. Thanks for all that you do!
Jamie
05/24/2018
Shanan took care of my nephew about a year ago. She has always treated both myself and my husband with such kindness. My little nephew just loves her to death. He is such a "happy boy" when we are there to pick him up. She never rushes us off when we arrive, and gives us a complete "run down" of his day. The whole family has really embraced her and have considered her apart of our own family. You can tell she really loves the children in her care, and she is devoted to each and every child. This is a wonderful place if you are looking for a great daycare!
Samantha M
10/05/2017
Shanan has been taking care of my 1 1/2 year old daughter since August. In the beginning everything was great. The last week has been absolutely horrible! I had to drop everything to go pick up my daughter twice to have her tell me she wouldn't take my daughter anymore because of her behavior. The behavior she said that was horrible is my daughter having bits of crying and coloring on her wall. I am a teacher and to leave in the middle of the day to go pick her up, anyone would know how difficult that can be. My husband and I thought something was wrong with my daughter so we took her to the doctor, come to find out my daughter has completely normal behaviour. They suggested we find a new daycare.

We personally believe their is no professionalism what so ever with this daycare. She refused to give us any kind of refund, my daughter only went for 4 1/2 hours one day of the week. We are left paying for care that we won't even receive. My daughter had two days where she was having bits of crying and to completely terminate care because of that is very frustrating. I am now having to take days off to find a new daycare for my child in the middle of the week!
Reply from Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC
To put it simply: This child did not acclimate into daycare at all. I have a 4wk. trial period and because she had not been in daycare prior to my care I extended the trial period (trying to work with the child). However, when a child begins to disturb another child present in my childcare, I must make a decision based on what is best for everyone in this environment. Furthermore, if a child becomes irritable and I cannot console them, then I must contact the parent. If need be, the child would definitely have to be picked up. Not everyone is a good "fit" and I understand that, but I do try!
09/04/2019
Katie H
02/11/2016
After I had my daughter, I had a very hard time finding a day care that I felt comfortable leaving her at. I visited and toured many in home and regular day care centers and I would always find something that I did not like about the day care. When I walked into Button and Bows and met Shanan and Scott, I knew at that moment this was the place I could leave my 8 week old daughter. From that day and still to this day, I am completely comfortable leaving my daughter with them. Shanan is so wonderful with the children and she makes you feel like family. I like that she takes time with me everyday I pick my daughter up to tell me how their day was. She helps my daughter meet her milestones and will chart detailed information about feedings, naps, diaper changes, etc. I highly recommend Buttons and Bows LLC to anyone looking for care for their infant or young child.
Reply from Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC
this child is no longer in my care
01/12/2017
Crystal
05/03/2013
Choosing Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC has proven to be one of the best decisions that we have made as parents for our son. Shanan Johnston's nurturing demeanor is a perfect match for this profession. She truly loves children, and loves providing them with a safe and healthy enviornment.

There are many reasons why Shanan makes this daycare special. One of our favorite aspect of this daycare is the fact that Shanan plans lessons everyday for the children. The children are exposed to reading, writing, physical activity, mathematics, crafts, and music. Every child is working on these skills in a manner that is appropriate for their age. Our son has really thrived in this environment and we know it is a result Shanan's ability to begin the foundational skills of education paired with the wonderful trusting relationships that she has with the children.

Another important part of this daycare is the healthy choices that the children are exposed to at Buttons & Bows, LLC. Everyone eats a healthy, balanced breakfast and lunch with equally healthy snacks. The children are involved in fun, hygiene-related practices like brushing their teeth after meals, and washing their hands often.

We are so pleased with the level of care given to our son at this daycare facility, and would recommend it highly to anyone interested.
Reply from Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC
This family is no longer a part of "Buttons & Bows Daycare."
02/06/2014
Kate B
04/28/2013
To anyone considering daycare with Shanan Johnston at Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC:

My son has been attending daycare with Shanan for a year now. It is hard to put into words how great she is with him, not only making daycare a safe and fun environment, but also making it one in which he is continuously learning. My son just is about to turn 2 years old and is currently one of the youngest children at Buttons & Bows. When I was first considering placing him in daycare I was nervous he would be overwhelmed being around even slightly older children. However, within his first few days there I realized my worries were unfounded. He fit in perfectly and being around older children only provided a much wanted challenge for him. It seems he is learning something new every day he is there.

Shanan creates a safe and healthy place for all the children she cares for. I never worry about what he is eating or whether or not he is developing bad habits. Shanan prepares a daily menu for the kids that includes well rounded and healthy snacks and meals. They all brush their teeth and learn other healthy habits throughout the day. Weather permitting, they spend time outdoors playing either in the yard or at the nearby park. When outside, they are taught to use sunscreen and every one of them can be seen wearing hats and sunglasses.

I am so thrilled I discovered Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC and that I made the choice to put my son in Shanan's daily care. Her daycare contract and policies are fair and her care of the children is beyond excellent.
Reply from Buttons & Bows Daycare, LLC
This child is no longer in my care.
08/08/2016
Add Another child
Mon Wed Fri
Tues Thur
Mornings All Day
Afternoons
Join free today
Sign up now! It only takes a few minutes.
What best describes you?
Thanks—you're almost there.
Create your login below.